Old 11 July 2017, 05:57   #1

Length: 3m +
Outboard motor

Hi all, I'm Ian and I'm new to ribbing but not boating, I have just bought a 3.3M hydroforce and although it states it can take up to a 15hp I'm wondering if a smaller engine would be adequate, lets say 6-8 hp, and are there any secondhand 4 stroke short shafts available not a million miles away, I'm in Essex.
Old 11 July 2017, 06:05   #2

Town: Sticks, N.Yorks
Boat name: Tamanco
Make: Honwave 3.5AE
Engine: Tohatsu Outboard
Hi & welcome. Unless you specifically want to go slow my advice is to get the largest engine your boat is rated for then you can always go slower by using less throttle. Smaller usually equals lighter but if you want to plane easily with a bit of weight in the boat you need the power to get it on the plane. I was wrestling my Tohatsu 20 hp 4 stroke about at the weekend and nearly gave myself a hernia compared to my old Mercury 15 hp 2 stroke but the extra power certainly makes a difference 5 up in my Honwave 3.5 AE.
Old 11 July 2017, 06:17   #3

Thanks for your knowledge, I will certainly bear in mind when looking.
Old 11 July 2017, 07:27   #4

Town: Aberdeenshire
Boat name: Sula
Make: Ribcraft 4.8m
Length: 4m +
Engine: Tohatsu 70hp + aux
MMSI: 235087213
RIBase
Honda 15hp standard shaft here: Buy Used Outboards Honda 15 hp 4 stroke 15.0HP Outboard at Bill Higham Marine
Old 11 July 2017, 07:38   #5

Town: Cambridgeshire
Boat name: Nimrod II
Make: Aerotec 380
Engine: Yam 15 Tohatsu 9.8
Hello Ian, welcome to the forum. I wonder where in Essex you might launch? We live in Cambridgeshire but our launch location of choice is West Mersea.

Engine power requirements do depend very much on load and how you'll use the SIB. For example where we are on holiday at the moment the estuary mouth tide can run at 5kts so unless you time going out in the short period around slack water then the max rated OB size is a good idea. But if you were just on the river 4-6hp would be fine.