Old 03 November 2003, 15:54   #1

Town: PORTSMOUTH
Make: Avon 5.4, Avon 3.4,
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yamaha 90, Merc 30
outboard help please :)

Guy's,

Ive got £500 ish waiting for the right engine for my avon 4 metre rib, as I had a nice motor that got sold underneath me the other week - I "think" I want a 50 hp but been told a 40 merc/mariner would be just as good for my 4m and there are much better for parts etc- Im fairly new to the game, but have done a level 1 rya powerboat course and been brough up with boats all my life - Ive been all over the net,boatsandoutboards.co.uk,all the mazagines ie:,bartmart,buyabout for under 20k, freeads, u name it! Im just not seeing what I want - any advice or anyone selling a nice tight engine out there ?

with tank/remotes preferablly, etc would be fantastic

Thanks in advance

Rgds

Olly

ps: I do apologize if this is not in the correct section/forum
Old 03 November 2003, 16:11   #2

Town: Margate / Ramsgate
Boat name: Bumbl
Make: Scorpion
Length: 8m +
Engine: Yanmar diesel
Hi and welcome to the world of cyber RIBing!

I think you are heading the right direction and would agree with whoever said try and get a Merc/Mariner. I would also like to add that Yam's are my favourite outboard make so consider those as well - ultra reliable Yam's are. Avoid the other makes in the age bracket (read price bracket) you are looking at, they will be more trouble. Experience of such Envirudes and Johnsons, Cryslers etc. of 70's and 80's era are bad.

The problem will be there are hundreds and hundreds of people like you looking for a 40-60hp £500 outboard, me included infact, so it'll be hard finding the right thing and i don't think i can offer much advise but beware there is some real crap for sale, try and take someone who knows roughly what they are talking about.