Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 24 August 2008, 12:05   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Dorset & Hants
Boat name: Streaker/Orange
Make: Avon/Ribcraft
Length: 4m +
Engine: 50Yam/25 Mariner
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,551
Optimax starting problems - an ideas ?

Hi - looking for any advice on my 2003 , 200 optimax. Went to start it yesterday and lots of turning over but no firing at all - went on for 2 hours ! changed the battery to the spare which I keep fully charged & still nothing . Then after calling sea start & missing the race boats in the solent I tried it again & went no problem on 1st turn ! Sea start think it may be faulty /intermittent relay that starts up the whole spark/ ignition module. Anyone had anything like this on thiers ? ( I have checked all the std stuff , like kill switch , primer buld etc ) .

It then ran faultlessly ( as usual ) for 3 hours including starting 2 or 3 times when I stopped for petrol etc .
__________________

__________________
PeterM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 August 2008, 15:28   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Glasgow
Make: humber
Length: 6m +
Engine: optimax 150
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 70
opti probs

How many hours have you done on the engine? Have your spark plugs been replaced at 100hrs?

Do you have a good connection on the battery? Optis are fussy about having the right amount of cranking amps to get them started.

As with most modern engines you need a diagnostic computer to check.


Have you had any recent warnings on the smart craft gauge's ?
__________________

__________________
iainmartins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 August 2008, 17:12   #3
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: WhiteNoise/Dominator
Make: Ballistic 7.8/SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Opti 225/Yam 85
MMSI: 235090687/235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12,645
RIBase
Trouble is, it's running now so as Iain says you'd need it plugged in to diagnostics to check.

If it does it again check it's sparking with a spare plug?
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 August 2008, 17:36   #4
Member
 
Bigmuz7's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Glasgow
Boat name: stramash
Make: Tornado
Length: 5m +
Engine: Etec 90
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,068
The kill switch sounds like a prime suspect to me, did you move it a lot before the engine started? is it mounted where water could get to it, or a cover that leaks onto it perhaps ?
__________________
Bigmuz7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 August 2008, 18:21   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Dorset & Hants
Boat name: Streaker/Orange
Make: Avon/Ribcraft
Length: 4m +
Engine: 50Yam/25 Mariner
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,551
Thanks for ideas - kill switch was no way wet & I put a brand new fully charged battery on it & still nothing - I did make sure the kill switch was OK , but there could always be an odd wire. Not sure if plugs were changed- its done 380 ish hours & serviced at 320 , but are going to get if fully serviced to be sure at the end of the season ( if it lasts that long ! )

If it was voltage on the battery why would it go after cranking for 15 times & then go ? I would have thought the battery would only ever get worse ?

Oh and nothing by way of warnings - no low voltage etc - all seemed fine.

Started today OK 1st time !
__________________
PeterM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 August 2008, 06:08   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Glasgow
Make: humber
Length: 6m +
Engine: optimax 150
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 70
If your connection to the battery is not tight and well greased it might not start. Happened to me, cleaned the terminals and put grease on it never happened again.
__________________
iainmartins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 August 2008, 17:34   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southampton
Boat name: SMH Rib / War Shot
Make: Ribtec / Scorpion
Length: 4m +
Engine: 10hp Yam / 150hp opt
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,894
RIBase
Relay

I had a similar problem a couple of years ago which was traced back to a dodgy relay.

Engine was difficult to start a couple of times then ran ok for a while then cut out mid solent.

Relay was about 30 iirc plus a couple of hours engineers time to diagnose.

Would get it to your local friendly Optimax Doctor.
__________________
Searider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 August 2008, 20:02   #8
Member
 
Hightower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Fareham
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7,855
I have a starting circuit on my Evinrude that ensures there's enough juice to all the important things for starting purposes. This has relays, I'm sure the Opti will have something like this on.

Sorry can't be much more help other than mention the obvious items like others are suggesting.
__________________
Andy

Looks Slow but is Fast
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Hightower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 August 2008, 05:18   #9
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Dorset & Hants
Boat name: Streaker/Orange
Make: Avon/Ribcraft
Length: 4m +
Engine: 50Yam/25 Mariner
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,551
Starting/ ignition relay is being changed this week - hopefully it will solve the problem. Engineer is 90 % convinced it will - thanks for replies- I dont know why its re-assuring to know someone else has had the same issue.....and fixed it.

I know optis are fussy about voltage / amps so I am fussy about making sure I start & run the engine at least every 3-4 days for an hour even if its just up & down the river. I went to take my smaller boat out last night & guess what - it wouldn't start but just the battery had gone flat - at least I can manually start that one.
__________________
PeterM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 August 2008, 15:28   #10
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Looe
Make: Delta
Length: 4m +
Engine: Mercury
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,335
If you get stuck with relays, just take one of the trim relays out and plug it into your start relay, they are the same relay. Bit late for that now of course!!
__________________

__________________
Turbodiesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 18:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.