Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 28 April 2013, 15:54   #1
RIBnet supporter
 
Jizm's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southampton
Boat name: Hissing Sid
Make: Ross Smith Cobra
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200HP Optimax
MMSI: 235038046
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 3,803
Optimax smartcraft alarm.

Keep getting 'paddle wheel' alarm on my gauges. Does this mean its fubar or something else? No idea if it worked or not before as I never paid attention!
__________________

Jizm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 April 2013, 16:11   #2
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: WhiteNoise/Dominator
Make: Ballistic 7.8/SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Opti 225/Yam 85
MMSI: 235090687/235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12,645
RIBase
You haven't got a paddlewheel have you?

Apparently you can set the gauge to read GPS speed only if you've got them hooked up to it.
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 April 2013, 16:28   #3
RIBnet supporter
 
Jizm's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southampton
Boat name: Hissing Sid
Make: Ross Smith Cobra
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200HP Optimax
MMSI: 235038046
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 3,803
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nos4r2 View Post
You haven't got a paddlewheel have you?

Apparently you can set the gauge to read GPS speed only if you've got them hooked up to it.
Yeah I do...
Not connected to GPS.
Jizm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 April 2013, 16:55   #4
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: WhiteNoise/Dominator
Make: Ballistic 7.8/SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Opti 225/Yam 85
MMSI: 235090687/235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12,645
RIBase
You could always be the guineapig for what I was talking about a few weeks ago and hook it up to a nmea0183 out and disable the paddlewheel?
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 April 2013, 03:46   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: bicester
Length: no boat
Engine: outboard only
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 894
you havent got a paddle wheel fitted just switch it of by going into callibration on your gauges ,sorry cant remember if its the tacho or speedo though.
__________________
uncle al is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 April 2013, 06:38   #6
Member
 
Waterman's Avatar
 
Country: Ireland
Boat name: Joy Ride
Make: Ribtec655CamelTrophy
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200 optimax
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 141
I have my paddle wheel disabled and the speedo fed via GPS.
__________________
Waterman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 April 2013, 06:39   #7
Member
 
Waterman's Avatar
 
Country: Ireland
Boat name: Joy Ride
Make: Ribtec655CamelTrophy
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200 optimax
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by Waterman View Post
I have my paddle wheel disabled and the speedo fed via GPS.
SMARTCRAFT gauge
on smartcraft guages with 'VDO' on them you hold '+' & '-' then switch the key on, then hold down 'MODE' for 2 seconds to enter calibration settings.

Scroll through the options and its pretty straight forward.
__________________
Waterman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 April 2013, 12:02   #8
RIBnet supporter
 
Jizm's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southampton
Boat name: Hissing Sid
Make: Ross Smith Cobra
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200HP Optimax
MMSI: 235038046
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 3,803
I do have a paddle wheel. Which wires do I connect to the GPS?
Jizm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 April 2013, 12:20   #9
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: WhiteNoise/Dominator
Make: Ballistic 7.8/SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Opti 225/Yam 85
MMSI: 235090687/235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12,645
RIBase
IIRC, you said your smartcraft loom is the same as mine.

There's a white wire and a blue wire that are nmea0183 into the gauges.They should have a rubber blanking plug on the end of them, holding them together.

White should be +ve, blue should be -ve, but apparently the merc manual says if it doesn't work, try it with the wires the other way round and you wont damage the gauges.

<edit>(double checked with the PDF-white is +, blue is -.)
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 April 2013, 13:53   #10
Member
 
Waterman's Avatar
 
Country: Ireland
Boat name: Joy Ride
Make: Ribtec655CamelTrophy
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200 optimax
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 141
That's how mine is connected. Just make sure the nmea 'out' on your gps is turned on.

The speedo will only take the feed from the paddle wheel OR the GPS so if you choose the GPS your paddle wheel is redundant.
__________________

__________________
Waterman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.