Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 25 July 2009, 19:58   #1
Member
 
Country: Canada
Town: GTA
Make: QS 330 airdeck
Length: 3m +
Engine: 15hp Johnson 2-strke
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 92
No kill with the button! '89 John 15hp

The power kill button does not work on '89 Johnson 15hp 2-stroke.
To kill the motor you have to choke it or disconnect the fuel hose. Choking actually worked well.
I've other Internet resources and some suggest it is either actual kill button that's not functioning or there could be lost/bad ground. I've checked the ground and reattached it, but I have no barrel to test run, so I have to wait until next weekend when I go to the lake.

Any other ideas as why the button not working?
Does it somehow affects the motor power (it is incorporated into the power pack)?
__________________

__________________
oujakov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 July 2009, 03:06   #2
RIBnet supporter
 
Jizm's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southampton
Boat name: Hissing Sid
Make: Ross Smith Cobra
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200HP Optimax
MMSI: 235038046
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 3,803
The kill switch is usually a short to earth, use a multimeter to check it when pushed.
__________________

Jizm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 July 2009, 05:30   #3
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: WhiteNoise/Dominator
Make: Ballistic 7.8/SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Opti 225/Yam 85
MMSI: 235090687/235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12,645
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jizm View Post
The kill switch is usually a short to earth, use a multimeter to check it when pushed.
Yep.

I'd replace it with a killcord.
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 July 2009, 11:28   #4
Member
 
Country: Canada
Town: GTA
Make: QS 330 airdeck
Length: 3m +
Engine: 15hp Johnson 2-strke
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 92
The kill switch is connected to the cord.

I'll try to set up test bench with water bucket to try running and shitting down the motor.
__________________
oujakov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 July 2009, 11:40   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: montrose
Boat name: rib tickler
Make: Tornado
Length: 5m +
Engine: 150hp Optimax V6
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by oujakov View Post
The kill switch is connected to the cord.

I'll try to set up test bench with water bucket to try running and shitting down the motor.
I dont know if that will help....LMAO
__________________
bazza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 July 2009, 15:58   #6
RIBnet admin team
 
willk's Avatar
 
Country: Ireland
Make: Redbay Boats
Length: 9m +
Engine: 370hp
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 12,928
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by bazza View Post
I dont know if that will help....LMAO
You never know, "Turd toime lucky", as we say over here!

BMBL!
__________________
willk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26 July 2009, 21:49   #7
Member
 
Country: Canada
Town: GTA
Make: QS 330 airdeck
Length: 3m +
Engine: 15hp Johnson 2-strke
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by bazza View Post
I dont know if that will help....LMAO
Viola spell checker!

Definitely there were no spelling errors detected.
__________________
oujakov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 July 2009, 03:45   #8
Member
 
m chappelow's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: yorkshire
Boat name: little vicky
Make: avon ex RNLI
Length: 3m +
Engine: tohatsu
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,310
9 times out of ten its usually the switch that has corrosion on it which then causes a bad earth ,some people tend to leave the cord in the running position when in storage ,so it wont get lost but that can lead to an air gap ,then the switch contacts going green with corrosion ,then it wont earth out when you need to stop, try take the switch apart and clean up the contacts , mart
__________________
m chappelow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 July 2009, 07:23   #9
Member
 
Country: Canada
Town: GTA
Make: QS 330 airdeck
Length: 3m +
Engine: 15hp Johnson 2-strke
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 92
I'll check the switch and the ground.

Does it somehow affects the motor power (it is incorporated into the power pack)?
__________________
oujakov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 July 2009, 11:27   #10
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: Wildheart
Make: Humber/Delta Seasafe
Length: 5m +
Engine: Merc 60 Clamshell
MMSI: 235068449
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,611
It'll only affect the power in as much as you'll get absolutely no power if it's shorted the ignition....

It won't degrade power, but as you have proved, as it's a "push to make" switch, it fails in the "run" position!
__________________

__________________
9D280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 17:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.