Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 15 June 2014, 19:02   #1
Member
 
bmb779's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Winchburgh west Lothian
Make: BWM 500 Dive Rib
Length: 5m +
Engine: 75hp +5hp Mariners
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 154
RIBase
Nasa target 2 depth sounder,

Hi,unit reads spot on accurate if engine stopped,start engine and it goes all lover the place. I have fitted a separate battery for it and repositioned transducer and cable well away from engine and wiring loom but still it does it,moved compass also.Anyone any ideas?
__________________

__________________
bmb779 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 June 2014, 18:00   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Margate / Ramsgate
Boat name: Ballistic
Make: Ballistic
Length: 7m +
Engine: Yam HPDI 250
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,835
Nasa target 2 depth sounder,

I've seen this several times on the NASA kit, it's a simple case of you gets what's you pay for and although we don't see a lot of NASA kit fail, it's cheap for a reason...

Best solution: buy Raymarine ST40 depth. I have a good refurbished system in stock. Or a garmin fish 100 or whatever it's called.,.

How have you mounted a NASA transducer anyway, they don't make a transom mount one that I'm aware of,

Alternative: try relocating transducer wire away from all engine related wiring? It's whole length (hard on a rib I know). Same for display power cables. If this doesn't work perhaps a ferrite or even a low pass filter on the supply cables (I know you said separate battery but it's connected for charging I assume)... In reality if you've reached this far you should revert to option (1)...

If you do persevere the NASA transducer is an unusual 150khz frequency where most manufacturers use 50 or 200.
__________________

__________________
Daniel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 June 2014, 17:43   #3
Member
 
bmb779's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Winchburgh west Lothian
Make: BWM 500 Dive Rib
Length: 5m +
Engine: 75hp +5hp Mariners
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 154
RIBase
1 quick call to NASA marine and problem solved,mounted transducer on transom,and reset unit to factory default setting all now ok.
__________________
bmb779 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.