Go Back   RIBnet Forums > RIB talk > Engines & props
Click Here to Login

Old 28 January 2015, 02:27   #1

Town: Chicago
Make: N/A
Length: no boat
Engine: N/A
Mounting & Dismounting Outboards by Hand

I've been eyeing the 12'6" SeaBright 380P inflatable a lot the past couple of weeks, however I'm stuck on deciding which engine I want. I know I could easily lift a modern 9.9hp Mercurcy or 2-stroke 15hp Mercury, since they're both around 80lbs. However, the craft is actually rated for a 20HP engine. Both 2-stroke and 4-stroke 20HP engines weigh 110lbs, which gives me some pause because I will have to be lifting the engine off the cart, into my trunk, out of the trunk, onto the boat, and then the reverse of that process each time I go to use the boat. Nevermind the fact that the boat itself is 100lbs and I'll have to be lifting that in and out of my car trunk as well...

Though, the increase in weight from a 9.9 to 20 Merc is only 30lbs. I have no experience in using small outboards, and don't know if the gain in performance is worth the weight increase. I'd also be interested in hearing if anyone has experience lifting and mounting these 15/20HP 4-strokes, and how they've fared doing it. It's not like I'd be doing this daily, maybe 4 times a month, and moving the motor a maximum of 10 feet each time I'd lift it up alone by hand. Any comments are welcome.
Old 28 January 2015, 03:17   #2

Town: NorCal
Boat name: SHARKY
Make: AB
Length: 4m +
Engine: Honda BF75 & BF5
Re-read this thread.
http://www.rib.net/forum/f50/which-s...sib-62208.html

Much of it depends on your own strength. What I might consider heavy, might be light to another person and vice versa. Remember engines are awkward to move around. It is easy to have them slip! Best recommendation is go to the dealer and pick them up, then decide.
Old 28 January 2015, 06:45   #3

Town: Stirling
Boat name: The Gurnard
Make: Quicksilver
Engine: mariner 25hp 2s