Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 31 March 2011, 07:12   #1
Member
 
mitchc's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Essex
Boat name: Kestrel
Make: Gemini
Length: 6m +
Engine: Opti 150
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 289
Mercury pitot tube pressure sender fault

In the last week I've been getting a speedo fault come up on the smart craft gauges. Traced it to a faulty pressure transducer. I asked local parts place for a price...177!!!

I think I'll live with the fault as it doesn't affect the performance...unless anyone has a bright idea where I can get one for sensible money?

Sent from my iPhone using Rib.net
__________________

__________________
mitchc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 March 2011, 07:51   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: Wildheart
Make: Humber/Delta Seasafe
Length: 5m +
Engine: Merc 60 Clamshell
MMSI: 235068449
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,611
Disconnect the sender, and run a hose to your console where you fit an oldschool pressure speedo?

On a more serious note, have you checked all electrical connections? assuming that fault is self diagnosed by the engine management, a dodgy connector will likley flag a sender fault.
__________________

__________________
9D280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 March 2011, 08:33   #3
Member
 
mitchc's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Essex
Boat name: Kestrel
Make: Gemini
Length: 6m +
Engine: Opti 150
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 289
"On a more serious note, have you checked all electrical connections? assuming that fault is self diagnosed by the engine management, a dodgy connector will likley flag a sender fault."

Done all that, traced it all through with a meter, and swapped the sensor for the block water pressure sensor. The fault followed the sensor!
It's not a big problem, just a little annoying...

Thanks for the suggestion though.
__________________
mitchc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 March 2011, 08:46   #4
Member
 
Cookee's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Salcombe, Devon, UK
Boat name: BananaShark
Make: BananaShark
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2xYanmar 260 diesels
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4,225
Turn it off and connect the Smartcraft to the GPS - pitot tube speed isn't that accurate anyway although it does give you speed through the water.
__________________
Cookee
Originally Posted by Zippy
When a boat looks that good who needs tubes!!!
Cookee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 March 2011, 08:55   #5
Member
 
mitchc's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Essex
Boat name: Kestrel
Make: Gemini
Length: 6m +
Engine: Opti 150
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cookee
Turn it off and connect the Smartcraft to the GPS - pitot tube speed isn't that accurate anyway although it does give you speed through the water.
Will turning it off stop the alarm?
I've got a paddle wheel on the gps & for the outboard so that'll give me speed speed through the water.

Thanks for the advice.

Sent from my iPhone using Rib.net
__________________
mitchc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 March 2011, 09:49   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: bicester
Length: no boat
Engine: outboard only
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 894
pitot

i have seen bits of weed/grit go up the tube (yes even tube with that small bore) and make the switch give eronous readings.
__________________

__________________
uncle al is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 13:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.