Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 15 August 2012, 20:05   #1
Member
 
starnetman2001's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Sheffield
Boat name: Fluffy
Make: Northcraft, Ribquest
Length: 6m +
Engine: Out 135 Mercuary
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 95
Mercury 135 97 Pulse

Hello,

Would anyone know what pulse setting I turn my quicksilver tachometer to?

Thank you,

David
__________________

__________________
starnetman2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 August 2012, 04:48   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: bicester
Length: no boat
Engine: outboard only
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 894
as I could never remember on all the OBMs ,I just used to have them ticking over and had my rev counter on my electric meter and just turn the adjuster untill both read the same. I was usually working outside and the manuals were inside and I couldnt be bothered to walk inside to look
__________________

__________________
uncle al is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 August 2012, 05:07   #3
Member
 
starnetman2001's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Sheffield
Boat name: Fluffy
Make: Northcraft, Ribquest
Length: 6m +
Engine: Out 135 Mercuary
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 95
Thanks uncle. Do you mean a multi meter? Analog I presume?
__________________
starnetman2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 August 2012, 07:05   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: bicester
Length: no boat
Engine: outboard only
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 894
analog NO I had the all sing and dancing mercury digital multi meter, which I gave back when I retired,
__________________
uncle al is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 August 2012, 12:08   #5
Member
 
starnetman2001's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Sheffield
Boat name: Fluffy
Make: Northcraft, Ribquest
Length: 6m +
Engine: Out 135 Mercuary
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 95
Ah, just tried changing to the different settings and found that it all reads the same. I'm thinking my tachometer is stuffed
__________________
starnetman2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 August 2012, 15:16   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Looe
Make: Delta
Length: 4m +
Engine: Mercury
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,335
Quote:
Originally Posted by uncle al View Post
analog NO I had the all sing and dancing mercury digital multi meter, which I gave back when I retired,
Ha Ha, its in my tool box!!!!
__________________
Black Dog Marine
www.blackdogmarine.com
Turbodiesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 August 2012, 04:22   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: bicester
Length: no boat
Engine: outboard only
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 894
Robby if its in your tool box what have I got on my mantlepiece?
__________________
uncle al is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 August 2012, 06:16   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: Wildheart
Make: Humber/Delta Seasafe
Length: 5m +
Engine: Merc 60 Clamshell
MMSI: 235068449
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,611
Starnetman,

if you don't have a secondary Tacho, adjust it so it is doing about 850-ish RPM at tickover. You'll soon find out if it's reading wrongly when you open the throttle!

Failing that, have a look at the Teleflex website & get the tech info sheets for their tachos - there is a setting chart on there that tells you how many poles most engines have.

The copy I found says for a 135Hp Merc, if it's a 2- stroke, set it to 3 (6) , if it's a 4- stroke, set it to 6 (12), so there's a going in point fopr you.
__________________

__________________
9D280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.