Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 10 February 2015, 13:24   #1
Member
 
Phil M's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Whitehaven
Boat name: Pegasus
Make: Zodiac Pro 530
Length: 5m +
Engine: 115hp Merc 4st
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 337
Merc 115 fault code and surging

I've fitted a new Merc 115 EFI to my boat and, having sorted most of my last set of installation issues, got the fuel system in and decided to run it up on the muffs to make sure everything worked. The fuel system is a 70l tank in the console (brand new), mercury supplied filter/separator (also in the console) and about 5m of fuel line to the engine (no primer bulb, as per the instructions). The fuel tank vent is on a combined filler vent cap, which seems to always be open.

So I put about 15l in the tank, (which didn't register on the gauge so I guess my sender might be a bit short), turned the key and off she ran, no priming done what so ever. First off it ran a little rough, as I would expect, but ran, and kept running. I noticed that there was at one point some fuel flowing through separator. At the end of the test I couldn't tell if there was fuel in the separator bulb or not, fuel being clear and all.

Next time I ran it up, again on muffs, it fired fine but ran a little lumpy at tick over and was surging badly at 2-2500 rpm, not going above 2500 at all. I could put the rough idle down to it being about 4 degrees but there must be an issue causing the surging. I would not normally go above about 2000 on the muffs but slipped with the idle lever.

Assuming this was a fuel flow issue, and concious that I hadn't primed the fuel lines I disconnected the feed at the engine, purged the fuel line by pressurising the tank until the fuel ran bubble free, then re-connected. Syphoning had failed as there seemed to be too much air in the system and I was fed up of drinking petrol. I hasten to add I did not pressurise the tank with the engine connected. Sadly I ran out of time to run again that night.

Tonight, I've fired it up again and again, starts fine, runs a little lumpy, although it is pretty cold, but was surging again. Tried running for a few mins on tick over then up the revs slightly and again it surged until the smartcraft alarm sounded. I dropped the revs to tick over (about 550 rpm) and read the alarm. It was showing a system fault 66 - shift position sensor, non critical. At the same time the alarm went off, the surging stopped and it ran sweet as a nut. I turned the engine off, waited a few mins then re-started. No fault code but surging and rough tick over again, then the alarm sounds and the engine runs fine again.

Could these issues be linked? Could the surging be due to a shift sensor telling the engine I'm trying to shift gear and dropping the revs or something? Is it the engine trying to stop me revving too high out of gear? It seems too much of a coincidence that the fault appeared and the engine suddenly ran smoothly. Any help or suggestions greatly appreciated.

Phil M
__________________

__________________
Phil M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 February 2015, 14:09   #2
Member
 
samt's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Midlands
Make: RNLI Y-Class
Length: 3m +
Engine: Mercury 15hp 2st
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 850
RIBase
You may need to bleed some air out of the fuel rail.

If it is the latest 115, then this is standard practice on first start up due to the design of the FSM, I use a fuel pressure gauge that attaches to the Schrader valve, which has a tap and a length of clear hose. Keep it open for 10-20 seconds and the fuel runs clear and engine runs smooth.
__________________

__________________
samt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 February 2015, 14:20   #3
Member
 
Phil M's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Whitehaven
Boat name: Pegasus
Make: Zodiac Pro 530
Length: 5m +
Engine: 115hp Merc 4st
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 337
Thanks for the reply. It is the new 2.1l engine. I will look at bleeding the rail. Can you tell me if the pressure gauge is vital or is it simply a case of opening the valve in some way or other and draining the fuel to a can? I assume it is with the engine running?

I've been through the installation and start up parts of the manual again and no mention of bleeding the rail.

Thanks once again as thats hopefully a big worry off my mind.

Phil M
__________________
Phil M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 February 2015, 14:26   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: poole
Make: ring
Length: 6m +
Engine: outboard
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 51
Totally agree with the above. It is advised not to fit a primer bulb on these engines however it is not completely frowned upon as it is on verados and the merc 150's.

With the shift fault double check the shift switch. It's a potentiometer on those as opposed to the old style micro switch. Check and adjust cable and maybe even make it slightly biased towards forward gear. You may need the mercury G3 software to clear the fault now though as I believe it's not the same as the older CDS software in that it doesn't self clear faults.
__________________
ring20johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 February 2015, 14:40   #5
Member
 
samt's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Midlands
Make: RNLI Y-Class
Length: 3m +
Engine: Mercury 15hp 2st
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 850
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil M View Post
Thanks for the reply. It is the new 2.1l engine. I will look at bleeding the rail. Can you tell me if the pressure gauge is vital or is it simply a case of opening the valve in some way or other and draining the fuel to a can? I assume it is with the engine running?

I've been through the installation and start up parts of the manual again and no mention of bleeding the rail.

Thanks once again as thats hopefully a big worry off my mind.

Phil M

Phil,
It's not in the manual, but it is a little quirk with these engines on first install.

Yes, with engine running. Pressure gauge isn't vital, it's just a convenient way of doing it.

A tyre pump hose draining into a container would work. Just need to safely open the valve so you don't get pressurised fuel everywhere.

Great engines!
__________________
samt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 February 2015, 14:41   #6
Member
 
Phil M's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Whitehaven
Boat name: Pegasus
Make: Zodiac Pro 530
Length: 5m +
Engine: 115hp Merc 4st
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 337
Quote:
Originally Posted by ring20johnson View Post
Totally agree with the above. It is advised not to fit a primer bulb on these engines however it is not completely frowned upon as it is on verados and the merc 150's.

With the shift fault double check the shift switch. It's a potentiometer on those as opposed to the old style micro switch. Check and adjust cable and maybe even make it slightly biased towards forward gear. You may need the mercury G3 software to clear the fault now though as I believe it's not the same as the older CDS software in that it doesn't self clear faults.
Thanks for the info. I will check the sender as it may have been upset when Ive fitted the smart craft bits .Dumb question though, where is it? I assume under the cowl by the selector lever?

Thanks

Phil M
__________________
Phil M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 February 2015, 16:06   #7
Member
 
Phil M's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Whitehaven
Boat name: Pegasus
Make: Zodiac Pro 530
Length: 5m +
Engine: 115hp Merc 4st
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 337
Quote:
Originally Posted by samt View Post
Phil,
It's not in the manual, but it is a little quirk with these engines on first install.

Yes, with engine running. Pressure gauge isn't vital, it's just a convenient way of doing it.

A tyre pump hose draining into a container would work. Just need to safely open the valve so you don't get pressurised fuel everywhere.

Great engines!
Thanks once again......

It's a great looking engine and loots to be well put together. Bit bigger than my old 75 clamshell so still getting used to how it looks on the boat (BIG). Can't wait to get it wet though.....

Phil M
__________________
Phil M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 February 2015, 16:26   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: poole
Make: ring
Length: 6m +
Engine: outboard
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 51
Yes it will be by the selector. Oli
__________________
ring20johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 February 2015, 16:27   #9
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: poole
Make: ring
Length: 6m +
Engine: outboard
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 51
It looks like a throttle position sensor. Will be right by the shift cable under the cowling. Oli
__________________
ring20johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 February 2015, 16:54   #10
Member
 
Phil M's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Whitehaven
Boat name: Pegasus
Make: Zodiac Pro 530
Length: 5m +
Engine: 115hp Merc 4st
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 337
Thanks..... I'll give it a poke tomorrow.
__________________

__________________
Phil M is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.