Go Back   RIBnet Forums > RIB talk > Engines & props
Click Here to Login

Old 11 November 2006, 09:57   #1

Town: Inverness
Make: Ribtec
Length: 5m +
Mariner Marathon 135 questions

Hi all,

Forum newbie here, although I've been lurking for a few months.

I bought my first Rib, a Ribtec 585 with Mariner Marathon 135 (serial number OC164663), a few weeks ago. We've been out a few times, but now getting very cold up here in Scotland.

I have a couple of questions about the engine, and was hoping some here may have experience with this type of engine.

The engine is in great condition for its age, and runs very well. However, it doesn't idle well, especially when cold, and frequently stalls. This may be a 'feature' of big old 2 strokes, but does anyone have any advice as to what might be causing this?

The handbook indicates a full throttle range of 5000-5500 rpm. Does this mean 5500 is the rev limit? Is it safe to open it up above 5500? Does it have a rev limiter?

Lastly, does anyone know how much this engine weighs? I have tried the marinepower website, but could find no reference. The transom is quite low in the water (hull only rated for 120hp), and I am thinking about getting a lighter, more frugal motor.

Sorry for all these questions in my first post. I am a sailor by default, so boats with no sails are all a bit new.

Cheers!
Neil.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_4320 (Small).jpg
Views:	390
Size:	83.7 KB
ID:	23162  
Old 11 November 2006, 19:08   #2

Town: Gosport
Boat name: April Lass
Make: Moody 31
Length: 9m +
Neil hi and welcome to Ribnet. Ribtecs do have low transoms, caused because its a deep V hull without a planning pad. Had problems in the past with a 6.45 if too many divers sat at the back end water would slosh over the transom. Depending on your DIY skills you could try raising the transom and filling in the bit under the engine saddle or just live with it making sure to slow down carefully when coming off the plane.