Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 26 August 2013, 13:42   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Bristol
Length: 5m +
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 338
Mariner Coastal Flush Kit

Hello,
Does anyone use one of these flush kits to flush their optis rather than muffs?

Contemplating fitting these to our club boats as salt build up seems to be a problem despite muff flushing (probably not long enough each time).

Apaprently you don't need to run the engine, just connect it up and let it run through the block for a while; would cause less upset to the neighbours late evening too!!!

Here's the part:
http://www.perfprotech.com%2Fmercrui...,d.d2k&cad=rja
__________________

__________________
David G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 August 2013, 15:54   #2
Member
 
The Black Pig's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Salcombe
Boat name: The Black Pig
Make: Ranieri
Length: 4m +
Engine: 60c hp tohatsu
MMSI: 235038018
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 316
Send a message via AIM to The Black Pig
Hi

Your link will not open
__________________

__________________
The Black Pig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 August 2013, 04:14   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Bristol
Length: 5m +
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 338
Link updated below:
Coastal Flush Kit, 858566A02-Performance Product Technologies
__________________
David G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 August 2013, 17:24   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Looe
Make: Delta
Length: 4m +
Engine: Mercury
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,335
Yeah they are pretty good, but not cheap! 104.08 with the vat! But you can flush the engine without running it!
__________________
Black Dog Marine
www.blackdogmarine.com
Turbodiesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 August 2013, 13:38   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Chesterfield
Boat name: Sea Quell
Make: Picton Cobra
Length: 5m +
Engine: Mercury 150 4 Stroke
MMSI: 235038298
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 859
What about one of these: $$$ less
Quick Flush

T H Marine Quick Flush Outboard Engine Flush KIT Yamaha Mercury QF 2K DP NEW | eBay

Use one on my Opti and leave it permanently fitted. I did cut down the threads a fair bit so it sits flush (no pun intended) better. Use the blanking plug as a guide

Jeff
__________________
Jeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 August 2013, 06:17   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Bristol
Length: 5m +
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 338
Thanks Jeff, very interesting.

I haven't looked for the flushing port yet on the Opti but is it under the cover on the block or is this exposed to the external environment?
__________________
David G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 August 2013, 12:53   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Chesterfield
Boat name: Sea Quell
Make: Picton Cobra
Length: 5m +
Engine: Mercury 150 4 Stroke
MMSI: 235038298
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 859
Its outside, on the lower cowl - right next to the tell tale. It is a black plug with square head

:-)
__________________
Jeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 August 2013, 13:00   #8
RIBnet supporter
 
Jizm's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southampton
Boat name: Hissing Sid
Make: Ross Smith Cobra
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200HP Optimax
MMSI: 235038046
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 3,803
Looks like this...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1320750658.jpg
Views:	154
Size:	36.7 KB
ID:	84852  
Jizm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 September 2013, 14:33   #9
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Bristol
Length: 5m +
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 338
Umm, that's strange, no obvious ports anywhere near the Teltale or even anywhere else around the outside.
Here's the view I have.
This is a Mariner 90 DFI opti .....or is it!
Cover is off in this image
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0305a.jpg
Views:	136
Size:	38.4 KB
ID:	85025  
__________________
David G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 September 2013, 08:45   #10
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Chesterfield
Boat name: Sea Quell
Make: Picton Cobra
Length: 5m +
Engine: Mercury 150 4 Stroke
MMSI: 235038298
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 859
Quote:
Originally Posted by Orville View Post
Umm, that's strange, no obvious ports anywhere near the Teltale or even anywhere else around the outside.
Here's the view I have.
This is a Mariner 90 DFI opti .....or is it!
Cover is off in this image
Ah ,,,, different >> we were showing/talking about the V6 models.
I didnt realise the sub 135's were that different
Jeff
__________________

__________________
Jeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 23:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.