Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 13 July 2013, 06:19   #11
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: Pembrokeshire
Length: no boat
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 23
Thanks all for getting back to me. I feel like towing the thing out to sea at the moment and pulling the bung out lol.

Were running internal tanks. Had a look at it after lifting the floor and everything looks clean. Ive been told it could be a voltage problem. The fuse on top of the engine that can blow if the batteries are connected the wrong way, while shes running shes only throwing 12.2 Volts and then bumps up to 13.8-14.2 volts while under power. Also she sounds super sluggish and slow while on tick over. Also been told it could be the battery cables breaking down.
__________________

__________________
quietsparrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 July 2013, 07:31   #12
RIBnet supporter
 
Jizm's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southampton
Boat name: Hissing Sid
Make: Ross Smith Cobra
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200HP Optimax
MMSI: 235038046
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 3,803
Opti's require a tip top battery to run properly. Should be about 13.5v when at tickover. 12.6v with the motor off.
__________________

Jizm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 July 2013, 13:00   #13
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Sussex
Boat name: Aintree
Make: Redbay Stormforce
Length: 7m +
Engine: Twin 150's
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 255
Quote:
Originally Posted by Searider View Post
Fault with the neutral position switch in the throttle?
Engine speed is limited in neutral.
I agree this happened to a mates opti.
__________________
redthunder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 July 2013, 15:52   #14
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Looe
Make: Delta
Length: 4m +
Engine: Mercury
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,335
Quote:
Originally Posted by Searider View Post
Fault with the neutral position switch in the throttle?
Engine speed is limited in neutral.
If it does this the overspeed alarm will go off and will record as overspeed in neutral. Also it limits the RPM to 4000.
Get a separate fuel tank plugged into it. Also you really need to plug in a fuel/air pressure gauge to check both of those. The CDS will only really pick up electrical faults from its sender it wont look at mechanical faults like fuel and air etc.
__________________
Black Dog Marine
www.blackdogmarine.com
Turbodiesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 July 2013, 05:25   #15
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: Pembrokeshire
Length: no boat
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 23
Thanks guys. Im gonna be heading down to the boat today and have a go at a few things.
__________________
quietsparrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 July 2013, 15:43   #16
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Weymouth
Boat name: n/a
Make: ribcraft
Length: 6m +
Engine: 150 optemax
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 21
hi had same prob it was ht leed not in the coil pack properly all good now
__________________

__________________
Graham pollard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 17:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.