Old 29 July 2016, 18:00   #1

Town: Bristol
Boat name: N/A
Make: HONWAVE
Length: under 3m
Engine: Mariner 10hp
Mariner 10hp OB Starting Problems

Evening all, I'm new here so be kind and bear with me

I'm new to the whole SIB / RIB scene but am so far absolutely loving it! I've always tinkered with cars and motorbike but boat engines are a novalty and I'm stuck....

I acquired a 2006 mariner 10 Hp, short shaft relatively cheap. I bought it as a project, since it didn't run - I was told it had no spark and needed a new CDI unit. Having got it home it appears to have a spark on both plugs so I thought I'd strip down and clean the carb (I thought perhaps a fueling issue).

Unfortunately with freshly cleaned carbs and what appears to be a reasonable spark, it still doesn't run; not so much as a splutter!

My question for the forum is, any ideas? What can I check next and how can I trouble shoot and eliminate various aspects of the carb or CDI.

Many thanks. Richard
Old 29 July 2016, 19:13   #2

Town: Retford
Boat name: Spy-sea-one
Make: Excel 435
Length: 4m +
Engine: Suzuki Outboard/25/4
RIBase
Put some fuel in each cylinder put plugs back in and leads on try and start you might have a spark but may not be hot enough to ignight the fuel
Old 29 July 2016, 19:25   #3

Town: Cambridgeshire
Boat name: Nimrod II
Make: Aerotec 380
Length: 3m +
Engine: Yam 15 Tohatsu 9.8
Another avenue... if you pull the plugs after trying to start (before trying Jeff's tip) are they bone dry or wet with fuel... that will give you a big clue.
Old 29 July 2016, 19:30   #4

Town: abergele
Boat name: all mine
Make: ribtec 3m
Engine: tohatsu 9.8 hp 2st
why not start with a compression test and go from there,
Old 29 July 2016, 19:47   #5

RIBase
Quick compression test put your thum over each hole if it blows it off chances it's ok.
Are they new plugs?
Has it been for a swim signs of corrosion under the hood white deposits everywhere
Old 29 July 2016, 19:47   #6