Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 05 August 2011, 04:34   #1
Member
 
Country: Sweden
Make: Bombard Aerotec
Length: 4m +
Engine: Evinrude 15 hp -78
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 142
Installing tachometer on rope started tiller engine?

Hey

Got a crazy idea that it would be fun to install a tachometer to see how the engine is performing. But it's a pulley started outboard with tiller!

Can't find any examples of this on the net. Is it even possible?

Regards,
Patrik
__________________

__________________
Patrik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 August 2011, 04:39   #2
RIBnet admin team
 
Poly's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: 2 stroke YAM 20 HP
MMSI: 235089819
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10,114
It may be possible relatively easily using traditional gauges depending on what wiring is hiding inside the cowel. However by far the simplest way without a 12v battery, is the tinytach approach... a search should find various posts on this.
__________________
Poly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 August 2011, 04:55   #3
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,653
Second Tinytach.

Info here: Tiny-Tach: Gasoline Tachometers

jky
__________________
jyasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 August 2011, 09:22   #4
Member
 
Country: Sweden
Make: Bombard Aerotec
Length: 4m +
Engine: Evinrude 15 hp -78
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 142
Sounds like a smart device! Where should I put the display? Thinking of putting it just on top of the engine.. Is it just one wire between the display and the part wrapped around the plug chord?
__________________
Patrik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 August 2011, 23:40   #5
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,653
Sit where you normally pilot the boat from, and figure a spot you can see it without doing any kind of contortionism. I'd think the side of the motor towards the front would work, but would involve mounting holes in the cover. (Though I suppose you could use double-sided foam ape and plan on replacing it every now and then.)

If it were me, I'd zip tie it somewhere inside the cowl, and simply remove the cover when I wanted to get rpm readings.

jky

Sorry; the connections are: a ground wire (tied to the motor block or other groundpoint), and a wire that wraps around a spark plug wire. That's it, as far as I know.
__________________
jyasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 August 2011, 02:25   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Boat name: Angel-B
Make: Ex Y boat
Length: 3m +
Engine: Suzuki 9.9HP
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 584
I have a TinyTach on my outboard, works really well.

Mine is cable tied in front of the cowl.

You need to get the right version for the sparking pattern for your outboard.

Cheers

Chris
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	TinyTach.jpg
Views:	249
Size:	61.6 KB
ID:	61425  
__________________
chris123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 August 2011, 04:19   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: East Anglia
Boat name: Nimrod II
Make: Aerotec 380
Length: 3m +
Engine: Suzuki DF20 EFI
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,275
That looks good Chris... probably the best place for one. I'm just a bit put off with the fact you can't replace the battery and have to regard a 60 device as disposable. I wonder if its life would be related to how long the engine runs as well as the time the unit is in standby?

I've nearly bought one a couple of times... this 100% seller looks OK...

Standard Tiny-Tach

I have a laser rev counter for tuning at home in the tank and on the water for a one-off check with a helper. Will use it on this year's hols to check out my prop sizing. Obviously you have to do a few runs with the cowl off so it's not as user-freindly as the TinyTach.

Could be useful for some folks though and only a tenner.

Digital Laser Photo Tachometer Non Contact RPM Tach | eBay
__________________
Fenlander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 August 2011, 05:33   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Boat name: Angel-B
Make: Ex Y boat
Length: 3m +
Engine: Suzuki 9.9HP
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 584
I'm not sure how much the battery life is affected by run time - the unit is permanently on (displaying hours run) even if the outboard is not running.

I would get a price direct:

Tiny-Tach: Contact page for ITCO

Richard Dunn is a really helpful bloke - when my TinyTach cable broke after a couple of years, he sent me a new cable.

SIB (lack of) performance seems to be a popular topic - when you look at the costs of outboards / props / mechanic's time, 60 strikes me a s a good investment.

Cheers

Chris
__________________
chris123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 August 2011, 05:56   #9
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Inkberrow
Make: Quicksilver 340 AD
Length: 3m +
Engine: 1992 Evinrude 20HP
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 109
I've ordered the hand held laser tach Chris... question of cost but I agree it may well prove to be an investement that's worthwhile (and clears up a lot of my frustration!)
Thanks mate..

Guys, I bought a new tank and fuel line, which seems to feed fuel without any problem (no cutting out or lumpy ride). At the time there were larger diameter fuel pipes... what difference could the flow rate with a larger diameter fuel pipe make to performance one way or the other? (I take it the engine will run at same rate as it's via carb etc?)
__________________
ferryden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 August 2011, 06:06   #10
RIBnet admin team
 
Poly's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: 2 stroke YAM 20 HP
MMSI: 235089819
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by ferryden View Post
At the time there were larger diameter fuel pipes... what difference could the flow rate with a larger diameter fuel pipe make to performance one way or the other? (I take it the engine will run at same rate as it's via carb etc?)
It won't make any difference on a 15HP engine. Some larger engines can't suck enough fuel through the smaller pipes and therefore have problems.
__________________
Poly is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 16:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.