Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 03 June 2006, 02:00   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 33
Inaccurate trim/tilt gauge

I have a Yamaha 150F. All has been fine for 3 years but recently I have found that when the engine is fully trimmed down there are still 3 (out of max 5 or 6) 'blocks' showing on the Yamaha trim gauge (works like a mobile phone battery meter). When working properly of course there are no 'blocks' showing when trimmed right down. This also means that the gauge now shows that the engine is fully tilted up when it still has quite a way to go. How can I re-adjust it so that it reads correctly? Could it have been caused by keeping the thumb on the down tilt button too long after the engine has reached bottom?

Any help very gratefully received. Thanks. Carlo
__________________

__________________
Carlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 June 2006, 04:40   #2
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: Stanley, Falkland Is
Boat name: Seawolf
Make: Osprey Vipermax 5.8
Length: 5m +
Engine: Etec 150
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,688
I saw a comment by somebody else on another thread a few weeks ago that you can set these somehow but I'm not sure what sort of sender "drives" the gauge and I guess it may be different between different sorts of engine anyway. Mine has an analogue trim/tilt gauge which seems to "lag behind" what the engine is doing i.e. if you move it, it takes about 1/2-1 sec before the needle catches up to where the engine is.

Just a thought but I should find out from a shop manual, what gizmo drives the gauge and how you adjust it, put the engine horizontal and adjust the sender, whatever it is, until the gauge agrees with the Mark 1 Eyeball. I have been meaning to do that on mine but not got around to it yet!
__________________

__________________
BogMonster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 June 2006, 15:15   #3
RIBnet supporter
 
Erin's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: A large rock
Boat name: La Frette
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200 Suzzy
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,830
There is normally a small plastic lever attached to the transom bracket which moves in as the engine leg is trimmed down. This sends the signal to the guage. It sounds as though the lever is either worn or something has come loose and it has slipped.
__________________
Erin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 June 2006, 00:43   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 33
Thanks very much for your replies. I'll see if I can find the lever. If not A quick call to Yamaha might be the easy answer. Much appreciated. Carlo
__________________
Carlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 June 2006, 12:36   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Coventry
Make: Ribeye
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yamaha 115 4stroke
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 117
Had similar trouble with mine when i first bought the boat. As mentioned previously there is a spring loaded lever which rotates relevant to the engine position that is prone to rusting or sticking due to salt crystalisation,this was certainly the case with ours,and a liberal application of wd40 soon cured it.Hopefully that is all that is wrong with yours .

RobC
just read your post ,properly this time ,and what i said above may not be relevant but i'll leave it in just in case.
__________________
Robox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 June 2006, 14:05   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Coventry
Make: Ribeye
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yamaha 115 4stroke
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 117
This is what it says in my Yamaha F115 workshop manual,if the attatchments work!You may just be able to calibrate it via the gauge on your console?What does anyone else think?
RobC.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	trim-adjust1.jpg
Views:	243
Size:	137.9 KB
ID:	19804   Click image for larger version

Name:	trim-adjust2.jpg
Views:	248
Size:	169.4 KB
ID:	19805  
__________________
Robox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 June 2006, 01:18   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 33
Thanks very much Robox. I'll take a look at my engine this weekend to see whether it works in the same way.
__________________

__________________
Carlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.