Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 02 January 2008, 04:57   #1
RIBnet admin team
 
Poly's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: 2 stroke YAM 20 HP
MMSI: 235089819
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10,114
How many poles

No not another political ribnet thread...

...I am planning to fit a tacho to my boat. To do this I need to know how many poles the alternator has - is there an easy way to find this out - I can't find it in the Manual.

Engine is a 20 HP 2-stroke Yamaha, 2 cylinders. It has electric start with battery connections. I believe the model number is 20D.
__________________
Poly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 January 2008, 10:30   #2
Member
 
Locozodiac's Avatar
 
Country: Other
Town: Lima-Peru
Boat name: Nautile
Make: Sea Rider Boats
Length: 4m +
Engine: Tohatsu 18 /30 HP
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,706
Hola Polwart

There are some engines in which you cannot put a tach because there is no wire harness available, one nice alternative that was using on a Evinrude 2 stroke 15 HP is the Tiny Tach from Kohler Engines, is an induction hour/tach meter, don't need a dedicated wire harness for it or guessing/messing/experimenting with other cables until you find the right ones.

When the engine is running shows the engine rpm's on a digital display, when engine shut off shows the working hours, very nice for scheduled maintenances. Just 2 wires, the red wrapped 4 turns on any wire plug, the black to any ground. If possible to find locally, specify the engine stroke.

Used to have it installed on the engine exterior cowl in front of the acelerator arm, now sits peacefully inside a Tohatsu 2 strokes 18 HP engine. One nice thing about tachs is that you can WOT your boat/engine very precise for max speed and performance.

See attached photo as a instalation refference, happy boating

Locozodiac
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Tach Issues.jpg
Views:	938
Size:	120.7 KB
ID:	32090  
__________________

__________________
Locozodiac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 January 2008, 10:45   #3
RIBnet supporter
 
bedajim's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Cambs/Northants
Length: no boat
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,499
Quote:
Originally Posted by Locozodiac View Post
Hola Polwart

There are some engines in which you cannot put a tach because there is no wire harness available, one nice alternative that was using on a Evinrude 2 stroke 15 HP is the Tiny Tach from Kohler Engines, is an induction hour/tach meter, don't need a dedicated wire harness for it or guessing/messing/experimenting with other cables until you find the right ones.

When the engine is running shows the engine rpm's on a digital display, when engine shut off shows the working hours, very nice for scheduled maintenances. Just 2 wires, the red wrapped 4 turns on any wire plug, the black to any ground. If possible to find locally, specify the engine stroke.

Used to have it installed on the engine exterior cowl in front of the acelerator arm, now sits peacefully inside a Tohatsu 2 strokes 18 HP engine. One nice thing about tachs is that you can WOT your boat/engine very precise for max speed and performance.

See attached photo as a instalation refference, happy boating

Locozodiac
I like that

Googled a uk supplier too

http://www.tinytach.com/tinytach/canadian.php
__________________
bedajim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 January 2008, 11:17   #4
RIBnet admin team
 
Poly's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: 2 stroke YAM 20 HP
MMSI: 235089819
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10,114
Loco - thanks - I saw that on ebay a little while ago and did consider it. But I do have the wiring harness for the tacho and so I would like to make use of that directly. I have spotted a "universal" teleflex dashmount tacho which will do the job and is a reasonable price - all I need then is to know how many poles - so I can set the switch on the back. If I can't get it then trial and error will probably prevail - but then whenever it gives an odd reading I will doubt the set up...
__________________
Poly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 January 2008, 12:32   #5
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: WhiteNoise/Dominator
Make: Ballistic 7.8/SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Opti 225/Yam 85
MMSI: 235090687/235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12,645
RIBase
Can't tell you how many poles you've got but I can tell you how to get the rpm correct....

Take a timing strobe with an RPM meter and attach it to your engine.

Set the tacho up to show the same number of RPM.
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 January 2008, 12:51   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Hamble
Length: 9m +
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,317
All the outboards I've ever fitted have been 12 pole, although they have been larger capacity/horsepower to the model you have.
__________________
It is better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak and remove all doubt!
Dirk Diggler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 January 2008, 13:28   #7
RIBnet admin team
 
Poly's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: 2 stroke YAM 20 HP
MMSI: 235089819
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dirk Diggler View Post
All the outboards I've ever fitted have been 12 pole, although they have been larger capacity/horsepower to the model you have.
Thanks dirk. According to the manual for the tacho, most of the 4 strokes >25 HP are 12 pole. But the 2 strokes less than about 90 HP are a right jumble. Yamaha 2 strokes in the 9.9-15 HP range are listed as 4 pole and 25-70 HP are listed as 6 pole. Unfortunately they don't list the 20! So presumably it is will be one of those?
__________________
Poly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 January 2008, 13:50   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Bristol
Length: 5m +
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by Polwart View Post
Thanks dirk. According to the manual for the tacho, most of the 4 strokes >25 HP are 12 pole. But the 2 strokes less than about 90 HP are a right jumble. Yamaha 2 strokes in the 9.9-15 HP range are listed as 4 pole and 25-70 HP are listed as 6 pole. Unfortunately they don't list the 20! So presumably it is will be one of those?
This document implies that it is a 4 pole due to it stating Yamaha 6HP-25HP:

http://faria-instruments.com/site_manuals/IS0012u.pdf

Orve
__________________
David G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 January 2008, 14:06   #9
RIBnet admin team
 
Poly's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: 2 stroke YAM 20 HP
MMSI: 235089819
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10,114
thanks - but only until 1987 - or am I misreading that? i think the problem is they don't seem to have sold the 20 HP in the US therefore its not listed.
__________________
Poly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 January 2008, 14:35   #10
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Bristol
Length: 5m +
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by Polwart View Post
thanks - but only until 1987 - or am I misreading that? i think the problem is they don't seem to have sold the 20 HP in the US therefore its not listed.
What year is it then?
__________________

__________________
David G is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.