Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 01 September 2008, 16:09   #1
rup
RIBnet supporter
 
Country: UK - England
Town: London
Boat name: Vanquish
Make: Cougar R8
Length: 8m +
Engine: Honda 225
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 18
Honda trim gauge inaccurate...

Does anyone have a similar problem with a trim gauge and 225hp outboard or more importantly know how I can fix the issue. Basically the engine can be almost half way up but the needle is still in the down position. Eventually it catches up but it not at all reliable!
__________________

__________________
rup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 September 2008, 16:20   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southampton
Boat name: Hypercat
Make: Ringcat
Length: 7m +
Engine: Merc 300
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 286
Hi

Change the sender

I have had two break this year already

Seems to be the only real weak point on all the larger honda engines

The sender is about 60 and takes 20 minutes to fit
__________________

__________________
Trailer Bloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 September 2008, 12:13   #3
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,653
Might try taking the sender off and lubing it up first (assuming you can get it apart. You can with Yammies.) It's basically a spring loaded lever driven by the motor position, connected to a potentiometer that relays arm position. When it sticks, the lever doesn't track the motor, and you get a down-position trim reading.

jky
__________________
jyasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 September 2008, 14:06   #4
Member
 
Bigmuz7's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Glasgow
Boat name: stramash
Make: Tornado
Length: 5m +
Engine: Etec 90
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,068
Mines no good either on my 90, infact I havent had many that were all that good. I think the problem looks like a set up issue on mine, it does move with the trim as you say but just not at the right place, I havent investigated it yet but wonder if its just a case of re setting the position of the sensor ?
__________________
Bigmuz7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 September 2008, 11:52   #5
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,653
Sensor position should be adjustable, at least to some degree.

Put the motor all the way up and move the sensor arm manually while someone watches the trim indicator on the dash. That'll tell you if the sensor is working.

Assuming that works, manually lower the sensor arm until the indicator goes to full-down. That will give you an idea of where it needs to be. Loosen the mounting screws and reposition the sensor to approximate that position with the motor down.

jky
__________________
jyasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 September 2008, 13:53   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southampton
Boat name: Hypercat
Make: Ringcat
Length: 7m +
Engine: Merc 300
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 286
Quote:
Originally Posted by jyasaki View Post
Sensor position should be adjustable, at least to some degree.

Put the motor all the way up and move the sensor arm manually while someone watches the trim indicator on the dash. That'll tell you if the sensor is working.

Assuming that works, manually lower the sensor arm until the indicator goes to full-down. That will give you an idea of where it needs to be. Loosen the mounting screws and reposition the sensor to approximate that position with the motor down.

jky
The only way you can adjust them is by undoing the mounting bolts and taking out the s/s spacer tubes then rebolting up the unit- this sometimes works but it is easier just to buy a new one
__________________
Trailer Bloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 September 2008, 16:13   #7
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,653
Okay;

Mine is mounted to a shaft, as I recall; just turn it a bit to calibrate.

Don't know how Honda's are mounted.

jky
__________________
jyasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 September 2008, 17:09   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: worcester
Length: no boat
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 40
look back

does anyone really use trim instruments, if you cannot tell if your boat is not trimmed properly for the wind/wave conditions you should not call yourself a driver. twisting the head always seems to work quite well.
__________________
ben tye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 September 2008, 12:13   #9
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,653
Do you ever look at the speedometer in your car? Or a thermometer? Or a fuel gauge?

None of those should be absolutely necessary, either, but they do convey information. More info is usually better than less.

jky
__________________
jyasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 September 2008, 12:21   #10
Member
 
Bigmuz7's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Glasgow
Boat name: stramash
Make: Tornado
Length: 5m +
Engine: Etec 90
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,068
Quote:
Originally Posted by jyasaki View Post
Do you ever look at the speedometer in your car? Or a thermometer? Or a fuel gauge?

None of those should be absolutely necessary, either, but they do convey information. More info is usually better than less.

jky

Thats it .. I dont really use mine either, but if its there and working, I'd prefer it to be working properly in case someone less experienced perhaps, needs to drive the boat
__________________

__________________
Bigmuz7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.