Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 01 November 2013, 17:42   #11
RIBnet supporter
 
Erin's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: A large rock
Boat name: La Frette
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200 Suzzy
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,830
This is basically what you will need. You will then need a basic nmea2000 backbone and power node in the boat as well. One end connected to the enging interface and the other to the plotter. If your plotter has a remote N2K aerial then you will already have a basic N2K network onboard and will probably just need the interface. If you do not have access to a Lowrance plotter then you will need to get the supplier to program the interface for you. This tells it which engine model you have.
Erin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 November 2013, 08:35   #12
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: poole
Make: ring
Length: 6m +
Engine: outboard
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 51
Yes plugs into engine diagnostic port.

Oli
__________________

__________________
ring20johnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 November 2013, 14:36   #13
Member
 
Trimix's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Boat name: Hysucat
Make: Hysucat
Length: 8m +
Engine: Twin Suzuki 175's
MMSI: 235102645
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 861
RIBase
Thanks guys - I was getting lost on the internet yesterday.

So, plug the Suzuki interface cable into the diagnositc port in the engine, thereby allowing the existing guages to continue to work, then plug both (one cable per engine) into the Garmin NEMA 2000 starter kit (just one of those), then plug that into the Garmin 750s plotter.

Just what does the Suzuki cable do then ? Why dosent the engine info just flow out of the engine into the plotter, why do you need an interface ?

From what your saying Erin, I need to program the interface with something ? Would a Suzuki dealer do this ? Is this info to tell the plotter stuff like engine size and fuel tank size ?
__________________
Trimix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 November 2013, 15:25   #14
RIBnet supporter
 
Erin's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: A large rock
Boat name: La Frette
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200 Suzzy
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,830
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trimix View Post

Just what does the Suzuki cable do then ? Why dosent the engine info just flow out of the engine into the plotter, why do you need an interface ?

From what your saying Erin, I need to program the interface with something ? Would a Suzuki dealer do this ? Is this info to tell the plotter stuff like engine size and fuel tank size ?
The interface converts the raw Suzuki data into N2K data. The diagnostic port is designed for the SDS Suzuki software for interrogating the engine. It must have been designed before N2K (J1939) protocols. You need to programme the interface so that it knows what type of engine you have and therefore what the correct data is to convert. You can also label the engines as port and starboard so you don't get them confused on your plotter.

Check out my sketch here on post 6 for simple N2K layout although I forgot to show a power feed T into the backbone.
Erin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 November 2013, 18:07   #15
Member
 
Trimix's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Boat name: Hysucat
Make: Hysucat
Length: 8m +
Engine: Twin Suzuki 175's
MMSI: 235102645
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 861
RIBase
Brilliant, thanks for that.
__________________
Trimix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 November 2013, 20:19   #16
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: southampton
Boat name: hydradrive
Make: yamaha
Length: no boat
Engine: sterndrives
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trimix View Post
Brilliant, thanks for that.
I rigged 2 250's with lowarace Lmf 400 if ii remember had to get a plug connector from Suzuki so I could connect bus wire to engine .
__________________
yam man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 November 2013, 10:24   #17
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,588
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erin View Post
You can also label the engines as port and starboard
Never dealt with Suzis, but with twin Etecs you have to use the Etec diagnostic software to assign each engine a unique ID, otherwise each engine just dumps its data onto the network & the network doesn't know what data is coming from which engine, it's akin to devices being given an IP address on a conventional network. Without the unique ID the data gets jumbled up & the display gets nonsensical.
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03 November 2013, 10:37   #18
Member
 
Trimix's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Boat name: Hysucat
Make: Hysucat
Length: 8m +
Engine: Twin Suzuki 175's
MMSI: 235102645
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 861
RIBase
That makes sence, I will order the bits and then give it a go. Cheers.
__________________
Trimix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 November 2013, 10:54   #19
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: southampton
Boat name: hydradrive
Make: yamaha
Length: no boat
Engine: sterndrives
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 289
I never used any software to set up gauges , i set up all the lowarace screens .
__________________
yam man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 November 2013, 17:23   #20
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,588
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by yam man View Post
I never used any software to set up gauges , i set up all the lowarace screens .
I wonder if that's due to using the suzi-N2k adapters, maybe the adapters appear as unique devices, dunno.
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 15:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.