Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 01 October 2005, 07:47   #1
Member
 
Andy Moore's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Cowes, Isle of Wight
Boat name: TiLT 2
Make: Avon Adventure 620
Length: 6m +
Engine: Optimax 135
MMSI: 235032203
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,639
Fuel monitoring

i have an Avon 620 with an OptiMax 135 on order.

What I am wondering about is how does one keep an eye on how much fuel is left in the built-in 100 litre fuel tank. Do the SmartCraft displays take care of this? Or do they just monitor how much fuel is being used? Do folk get a separate fuel sensor fitted?

TIA.

--Andy
__________________

__________________
Andy Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 October 2005, 11:07   #2
RIBnet supporter
 
LURCHER's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Tisted Hampshire
Boat name: Hot Lemon
Make: Scorpion
Length: 8m +
Engine: Inboard
MMSI: 235
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 766
Send a message via MSN to LURCHER
Smart craft

I have a Navman Trackfish6600 with the smart gauges interface and it works very well though i dont have atank sender so that part is not working yet .
If you get the chance upgrade to the 150 optimax do it .
We went from Chi Bar to Poole and used 45 litres at about 24 mph with 4 on board
__________________
www.hiremarquee.co.uk
LURCHER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 October 2005, 11:32   #3
Member
 
Andy Moore's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Cowes, Isle of Wight
Boat name: TiLT 2
Make: Avon Adventure 620
Length: 6m +
Engine: Optimax 135
MMSI: 235032203
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,639
I have a Navman Trackfish6600 with the smart gauges interface and it works very well though i dont have atank sender so that part is not working yet . If you get the chance upgrade to the 150 optimax do it .We went from Chi Bar to Poole and used 45 litres at about 24 mph with 4 on board

I have really just revised my decision on the outboard from the OptiMax 115 to the 135.

How does the smart guages interface work? Do the SmartCraft dials connect to the Navman?

--Andy
__________________
Andy Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 October 2005, 14:51   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Swanmore nr Fareham
Boat name: Greyhound
Make: Ribtec
Length: 7m +
Engine: 225 Opti
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 155
I use a Navman 2100 it fits in the fuel line and measures the flow rate. It also calculates how much fuel is left in the tank. It is meant to be accurate to <5%. I have found it invaluable. Cost approx 125 from memory. Used on a 5.6 avon with a 4stroke Honda 90hp

It works like this:

1) Fill up the tank.
2) Set gauge to total fuel in tank (either through fuel pump reading if empty tank, or total size of tank) - Suggest downrating this to 90% of tank size for obvious reasons!
3) If you then add more fuel - then just adjust the current fuel level on the gauge.

It did prove my manual guage was accurate, and also shows current fuel rate. This is interesting to watch as you reduce the revs and watch the speed and fuel flow change (sometimes dramatically!)

2100 Manual available to download from:here

They also do a 3100 which has many more features (two fuel tanks, visual bar chart display) - uses a large square gauge as opposed to a small round one with the 2100. you may need to buy an additional flow sensor for two tanks though.

Any other questions just ask

p.s. I have no connection with navman other than being a satisfied customer!
Stuart M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 October 2005, 14:56   #5
Member
 
Andy Moore's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Cowes, Isle of Wight
Boat name: TiLT 2
Make: Avon Adventure 620
Length: 6m +
Engine: Optimax 135
MMSI: 235032203
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,639
Stuart,

Would this then be duplicating readings from the SmartCraft dials?

--Andy
__________________
Andy Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 October 2005, 16:23   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Swanmore nr Fareham
Boat name: Greyhound
Make: Ribtec
Length: 7m +
Engine: 225 Opti
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 155
I use the 2100 completely stand alone as one unit. I understand that you can buy just the fuel flow bit to connect it to other navman stuff but have no experience with "smartcraft" at all. I only have manual fuel guage and Navman 2100 on the boat, all other stuff is independent (except gps feed to dsc radio).
__________________

Stuart M is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 20:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.