Old 17 October 2013, 14:22   #1

Length: 4m +
Evinrude E-TEC 30 HP winterization

Hi all,

I would like to learn how to do it on my engine. I have a steering console with a throttle control on the side (nothing fancy, just very basic). I have been reading the winterization procedures and looks simple/doable and would like to give it a go.

However, before I attempt it, I have some questions and would like them answered before I do it:

1. According to the Evinrude winterization procedures, the engine must be in neutral position. My question is how is this possible? You have to push the throttle forward half way to start the winterization process but that will engage the gear, isn't it?

2. during the winterization process, will the propeller spin at all, hence it requires the removal of the propeller if doing on land?

I am very new to this and would like someone to guide me. Many thanks in advanced.
Old 17 October 2013, 14:44   #2

Boat name: WB465
Make: Zodiac
Engine: 2013 ETEC 30
Your throttle should have a button that is usually located in the axle of the throttle lever (the center point it pivots forward and backward around). If you press that button before pushing the throttle forward, it will not engage forward gear and it will just act as a throttle. FWD gear will not be engaged if you push this button before advancing the throttle lever, so the prop will not spin.

In the attached pic, the button I'm talking about it would be the silver circle with the squiggly logo on it. It is also shown in the video below. (Google and Youtube are your friends!)

Attached Images

Old 17 October 2013, 14:48   #3

You have to do this with the engine in the water. Otherwise, you will need to provide water to the cooling inlets of the engine. If you don't you will damage your engine.
Old 17 October 2013, 14:59   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Projectile View Post