Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 18 December 2017, 05:21   #1
Member
 
Country: Denmark
Town: copenhagen
Boat name: capex
Make: ballistic
Length: 7m +
Engine: outboard
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 4
evinrude 225 to 300 upgrade (warranty expired)

Dear all,

been looking at some specs and it seems like the e-tec 225 and 300 are the same engine but with electronic limitations.

i have a 225 mounted (warranty expired so comments about this is not necessary).

does anyone know or have experience on how to "unleash" the final hp?

best, Daniel
__________________

__________________
danielg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 December 2017, 09:51   #2
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 8,178
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by danielg View Post
Dear all,



been looking at some specs and it seems like the e-tec 225 and 300 are the same engine but with electronic limitations.



i have a 225 mounted (warranty expired so comments about this is not necessary).



does anyone know or have experience on how to "unleash" the final hp?



best, Daniel


Itís not easy, if even possible. You would need an EMM for a 300hp for starters & they dont come cheap. There will be several variants of the same EMM depending on engine year, so you would need the correct EMM for your engine hardware. The normal procedure for replacing an EMM is to plug the old EMM into the diagnostic software & download the engine data including the injector coefficients to the laptop. You then fit the new EMM to the engine & upload the data, you are effectively cloning the EMM, Iíve done it & it takes around 1/2hour from start to finish, but thatís doing a like for like swap. When you upload the engine data to the new EMM, it performs a check to ensure that you arenít trying to do what you are trying to do. The only way I can think of doing it, is to buy a second hand (salvage?) EMM of a 300 & try plugging it in & then uploading the injector coefficients from your engine. You would have to save them first from the old EMM. If you donít program your engine coefficients in, you run a high risk of frying the power head. It probably can be done, but not without some inside knowledge of the workings of the EMM software.

A good place to start would be on the Etec owners group run by Barnacle Bill.

Good luck
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 December 2017, 12:18   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gloucestershire
Boat name: Osprey
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-tec 300 G2
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,014
Not possible there are also some physical changes that would need to be considered. The money you would spend would be better off putting towards one of the new G2 E-TECS.
__________________
---------------------------------------------------
Chris Stevens

Born fiddler
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 January 2018, 18:33   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: Cardiff
Length: no boat
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 947
Do they not use the standard Bosch ecu with buds for diagnostics then? Nprotuning sweden might be able to help if they do.
__________________
HDAV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 January 2018, 01:46   #5
Member
 
MatFromPoland's Avatar
 
Country: Poland
Town: WARSAW
Boat name: T1
Make: HIGHFIELD OM540DL
Length: 5m +
Engine: EVINRUDE 115 HO
MMSI: 261026640
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 605
friend of mine has 2 x etec 300 HP 80 hrs on each (1 x LH, 1xRH).

If I remember asking price was 15k EUR per each. Maybe still under guarantee.

You can ask him directly: https://www.facebook.com/michal.majkelowaty1234

He is one of the spectre boat builders.
I'm sure you can buy one of them for good price.
If you sell current maybe it be good solution
__________________
MatFromPoland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 January 2018, 05:26   #6
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 8,178
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDAV View Post
Do they not use the standard Bosch ecu with buds for diagnostics then? Nprotuning sweden might be able to help if they do.


Nope, they are a bespoke watercooled ECU that also contains the charging circuit regulators. There are one or two outfits in the states that have managed to repair/upgrade them but it's not easy or cheap.
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 22:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.