Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 25 August 2014, 13:05   #1
Country: UK - England
Town: Liverpool
Make: Avon, Aircraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: 60 etec, 75 mariner
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 86
etec 60 power trim problem

Hi All

The power trim on my 60hp etec is not working, tried both buttons on engine and morse box, all I get is a clicking noise.

Any suggestions?



Scousedeli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 August 2014, 13:13   #2
paddlers's Avatar
Country: UK - England
Town: Sticks, N.Yorks
Boat name: Tamanco
Make: Honwave 3.5AE
Length: 3m +
Engine: Tohatsu Outboard
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,028
Relays or poor earth !

paddlers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 August 2014, 13:18   #3
kerny's Avatar
Country: UK - England
Town: Ashton-under-Lyne Lancs
Boat name: IMOGEN
Make: Air-Craft 5.4
Length: 5m +
Engine: Etec 60
MMSI: 235087492
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 6,926
Send a message via Skype™ to kerny
Possibly the trim sender unit.
Member of S.A.B.S. (Lancashire Division)
kerny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 August 2014, 14:57   #4
spartacus's Avatar
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Aberdeenshire
Boat name: Sula
Make: Ribcraft 4.8m
Length: 4m +
Engine: Tohatsu 60hp + aux
MMSI: 235087213
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,058
Clicking solenoids. Dismantle electrical points, clean and reassemble. If that doesn't do the trick, take a closer look at the trim motor. Could be worn carbon brushes? How old is the engine? An electrical multimeter is invaluable to ensure you're getting 12v, etc.
Is that with or without VAT?
spartacus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 September 2014, 10:46   #5
Country: UK - England
Town: Cheshire
Make: Sea-Swift
Length: 3m +
Engine: 15hp Johnson 2Stroke
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 38
I occasionally have same problem on my yam 70..sometimes fine... Other times just clicks...usually when you really want it to work.! If I operate the button and 'lightly tap' the base of the motor it tends to fix it...amount of ' light tapping' very much dependent on urgency of situation! Im assuming brushes are worn...or its full of corrosion...either way its on my must do list..
Anybody know how easy it is to find replacement brushes/contacts if thats the issue??
Stoph is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 17:19.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.