Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 04 June 2014, 13:18   #1
Member
 
1978SeaRider's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Anglesey
Boat name: Humper
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 7m +
Engine: 250hp E-Tec
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 253
ETEC 250 "No Oil" Warning

Hi,

I have a problem the dealer can't fix.

Started with a "Sensor Malfunction - see dealer"

Then progressed to "No Oil" and then limp mode.

I've changed the Oil Sensor and it's now intermittent... Dealer is basically now stuck.

Any ideas ? Software maybe ?

The faults basically ruined my "boating holiday"... Bad times...

Any help would be REALLY appreciated
__________________

__________________
RIB Enthusiast, wingsuit skydiver, scuba diver and avid big wave jet skier...
1978SeaRider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 June 2014, 13:24   #2
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,579
RIBase
try doing an auto winterisation. Are you getting "no oil" or "low oil" Also get a printout from the engine, it will show any fault codes.

Which dealer did you take it to?

When you get the fault does the oil primer bulb collapse?
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04 June 2014, 13:32   #3
Member
 
1978SeaRider's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Anglesey
Boat name: Humper
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 7m +
Engine: 250hp E-Tec
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 253
Hi Dave,

Thanks for the reply...

It started with 'Faulty Sensor' then the day after Im sure it was "No Oil" not "Low Oil"... Then the 'P' symbol and limp mode.

I've took it to Dulas Marine on Anglesey, the only dealer with a good few hours...

I got the oil sensor changed - wasn't that... then they said it must be the wiring loom - wasn't that... now they are saying it could be the oil line....

They ran it in a tub for an hour with no fault, next try fault, then no fault...

It's still with then but I'll run over tomorrow and try the Winterise...

Might be a coincidence but I topped the oil tub up the day it all started... But I've check and the caps on and all seems fine ?

Some USA forums are saying software ?

I'm lost.
__________________
RIB Enthusiast, wingsuit skydiver, scuba diver and avid big wave jet skier...
1978SeaRider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 June 2014, 13:41   #4
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,579
RIBase
How old is the engine, has it ever been updated/serviced? Any Evinrude dealer should check the software & update it as part of the service. If you get an engine report, it will show the software version. If it's worked ok previously & suddenly started playing up, I wouldn't suspect software. Could be a nipped oil line either from the main tank or on the engine. When it happens again, try pumping the oil primer bulb & see if it clears, that would indicate a restriction in the oil line or a blockage in the tank pickup. If you remove the cowl & watch the oil lines on the engine whilst it's running, you should see micro bubbles running in the clear oil lines that run around the block.
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04 June 2014, 14:02   #5
RIBnet supporter
 
gotchiguy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Dinard, Brittany
Boat name: Into the Red
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 7m +
Engine: Evinrude E-tec 250HO
MMSI: 235 076 114
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,948
RIBase
We had almost this exact problem two years ago. No oil was on permenantly and the engine was in limp home mode. There is little info about this on the web and you are the first person I have come accross with the same problem. Listen to what pikey said and check if there are any bubbles in the oil lines either side of the oil manifold.

Our fault was eventually traced to a series of problems which all fed back to the fact that the oil line was joined in so many places that it was leaking like a sieve! Over the course of three seasons the oil sensor had seen the low oil pressure and sent the oil pump into overdrive. So much so that when we replaced the oil line and oil sensor, the oil pump continued to pump far too much oil in and it was Smokey as anything! Hopefully your pump is ok, but now you have changed the sensor the next thing to do is make sure there is no nip in the oil line and most importantly that it is totally continuous with no joins or leaks. Best of luck!
__________________
gotchiguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 June 2014, 14:07   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Bristol
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yamaha
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4,194
Sorry cant help on the technicalities of the issues, but this would be a good start!
__________________
Member of S.A.B.S. West Country Division
matt h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 June 2014, 14:30   #7
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,579
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by matt h View Post
Sorry cant help on the technicalities of the issues, but this would be a good start!
Soooooo predictable
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04 June 2014, 14:38   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Bristol
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yamaha
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4,194
What was ?
__________________
Member of S.A.B.S. West Country Division
matt h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 June 2014, 14:42   #9
Member
 
1978SeaRider's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Anglesey
Boat name: Humper
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 7m +
Engine: 250hp E-Tec
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 253
Thanks everyone, really appreciate the help

I'm going over in the morning to try the above, I'll let you know how I get one. Fingers crossed
__________________
RIB Enthusiast, wingsuit skydiver, scuba diver and avid big wave jet skier...
1978SeaRider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 June 2014, 14:44   #10
Member
 
1978SeaRider's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Anglesey
Boat name: Humper
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 7m +
Engine: 250hp E-Tec
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 253
Sorry Dave, yes it's been dealer serviced annually since new, apart from last season... so hopefully they've done the software updates, I'll check they've checked recent software updates tomorrow
__________________

__________________
RIB Enthusiast, wingsuit skydiver, scuba diver and avid big wave jet skier...
1978SeaRider is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.