Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 05 August 2010, 08:54   #1
Member
 
Solent-Salted's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Hythe
Boat name: To be confirmed
Make: Gemini
Length: 9m +
Engine: Twin V6 Suzuki DF250
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 282
Diagnostic tools

Afternoon all,

Have been toying with the idea for a while.....

At the mo, when we get an issue, we have to drag the boat on round to the mechanic for him to plug in a little tester handheld and then go "It's yer throttle sensor".

Very time consuming and annoying.

Now, all I want is the hand held testing tool, it's on an iveco and is called a PT-01 or PT01.

Found one company that does um, but they haven't got back to me.

Any ideas where else I can get one from?

Chars.
__________________

__________________
A boat is not truly yours until you start fixing the things that you have personally broken.
Solent-Salted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 August 2010, 10:55   #2
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,653
Yamaha does sell a PC based software analyzer package. As I recall, it's around $400 US; same thing the "certified mechanics" use.

I don't know if he sells/ships overseas, but this guy does stock the kit:
http://www.simyamaha.com/category_s/1732.htm

At least you can get the Yam part number from him, and find someone who can order it.

jky
__________________

__________________
jyasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 August 2010, 08:03   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Surrey
Length: no boat
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 215
diagnostics

hi , what engine are you trying to plug into ??
__________________
outboardtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 August 2010, 04:00   #4
Member
 
Cookee's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Salcombe, Devon, UK
Boat name: BananaShark
Make: BananaShark
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2xYanmar 260 diesels
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4,225
While we have everyone's attention what is there for Yanmar's (BY260's)?
__________________
Cookee
Originally Posted by Zippy
When a boat looks that good who needs tubes!!!
Cookee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 August 2010, 07:52   #5
RIBnet supporter
 
Erin's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: A large rock
Boat name: La Frette
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200 Suzzy
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,830
Assuming Yanmars are based on the car/truck block then the ecu's should be the same so I'd suggest trawling the car forums for aftermarket pc diag software. On a similar vein, my Audi/VW car diag scanner from the US (vag-com) works on our hardboat's VW marine engine perfectly.
__________________
Erin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 August 2010, 09:52   #6
Member
 
Cookee's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Salcombe, Devon, UK
Boat name: BananaShark
Make: BananaShark
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2xYanmar 260 diesels
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4,225
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erin View Post
Assuming Yanmars are based on the car/truck block then the ecu's should be the same so I'd suggest trawling the car forums for aftermarket pc diag software. On a similar vein, my Audi/VW car diag scanner from the US (vag-com) works on our hardboat's VW marine engine perfectly.
It is a totally different turbo from the BMW road engine - I would imagine the mapping would be different for marine use as well, maybe the same building blocks though so we may see if we can plug into it.
__________________
Cookee
Originally Posted by Zippy
When a boat looks that good who needs tubes!!!
Cookee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 August 2010, 10:19   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: No name yet
Make: Avon
Length: 4m +
Engine: Honda BF30
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 153
I can't find a lot of info on this, but the conclusion that I'm drawn towards is that they are using the same protocols as the auto industry, so any serial port scanner would do. This should give basic functionality such as fault codes, live data, actuator testing etc. From what I can see, outboard manufacturers are using their own plugs, so a bit of creative wiring would be involved, but nothing more than matching the correct pairs on a wiring diag. If anyone has a wiring diag for a modern outboard plug, I'll see if any of it makes sense and post back.

free
__________________
free is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 August 2010, 10:23   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Bursledon
Boat name: Mustard
Make: Ribeye 785
Length: 7m +
Engine: Yamaha 200/Merc 6
MMSI: 235068693
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 618
There used to be a guy on eBay who sold outboard diagnostic software from the US.

Might be worth a look on eBay, in the US.

There was also someone who made up leads. I think he was in Canada.

Yes, I had a Ficht!


Look at: http://www.yamahaoutboardparts.com/f...er-th7326.html
__________________
Tony
JABS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 August 2010, 11:42   #9
Member
 
Solent-Salted's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Hythe
Boat name: To be confirmed
Make: Gemini
Length: 9m +
Engine: Twin V6 Suzuki DF250
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 282
Sorry for the late reply.

It's an N40 250 Iveco Diesel inboard.

All I want is the basic tester that tells you the faults and gives you clear functionality.

Got the knowledge base to complete any engine repairs, it just seems that you can't do a bloody thing without a engine PDA anymore!
__________________
A boat is not truly yours until you start fixing the things that you have personally broken.
Solent-Salted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 August 2010, 15:02   #10
RIBnet supporter
 
Erin's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: A large rock
Boat name: La Frette
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200 Suzzy
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,830
I've no idea what protocol Iveco use in their systems, but obviously most are CANBus (aka J1939 I think) these days. I'd have thought it would be easy to get hold of a scanner that would pull codes out of the ECU. Correct me if I'm wrong, but isn't it all part of the Ford fold? That must be the most common scanner around!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cookee View Post
It is a totally different turbo from the BMW road engine - I would imagine the mapping would be different for marine use as well, maybe the same building blocks though so we may see if we can plug into it.
I don't think the mapping would matter (obviously it would if you wanted to 'chip' it but that's a different kettle of fish from diagnostics). The protocol the ECU uses would be pretty standard I'd have thought. They're not going to have developed a different format just for marine engines when the basic engine parameters and sensors are the same for all engines, road or marine.
__________________
Erin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.