Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 25 August 2004, 05:26   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: PORTSMOUTH
Make: Avon 5.4
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yamaha 60FE -
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,838
dam where+how can I install these remotes!



something i kinda overlooked with regard to my Yamaha 703 Remotes that came with my outboard - they look like there to be mounted on the right/starboard side bolted to the side of the boat or on the left of a centre console, I've got a great bit hatch that now that side so Iíve a bitstumped unles you boys have any ideas how i can get around this? Pics/below

Thanks in advance!
__________________

__________________
ollyit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 August 2004, 05:39   #2
Member
 
Nick Hearne's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Bucks
Boat name: Blue & Ding Dong
Make: Ribeye,SR4 & Bombard
Length: 6m +
Engine: 115,50 & 15Hp Yams
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3,242
Ops!
Do you not mean the Port side!
But any way if I'm right you can take the control box apart & reassemble to go on the other side!
But then I may be wrong
Nick
__________________

__________________
Nick Hearne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 August 2004, 05:48   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: PORTSMOUTH
Make: Avon 5.4
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yamaha 60FE -
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,838
really? hope youre right! - I bet some on here knows for sure!
__________________
ollyit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 August 2004, 05:54   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Greenock area
Boat name: Joni Chimpo
Make: Narwhall
Length: 4m +
Engine: 50hp Mariner
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 131
Send a message via MSN to GaryD
You can definately take the mariner/mercury controls apart and reasemble them so that they can be used on the oposite side.

I would imagine it would be the same for the yamaha controls.
__________________
GaryD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 August 2004, 05:56   #5
Member
 
Nick Hearne's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Bucks
Boat name: Blue & Ding Dong
Make: Ribeye,SR4 & Bombard
Length: 6m +
Engine: 115,50 & 15Hp Yams
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3,242
I may be wrong but I have a OMC one at home in bits & if I remember correctly you can change the leaver over!
Worth a look!
Nick
__________________
Nick Hearne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 August 2004, 05:57   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Surbiton,Gt London
Length: 5m +
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 437
Bracket

My control is on a metal bracket that moves it out from the console with some space to the rear. could you try that mounted 45deg across the hatch and still have access. If i can work out how to post pictures will try to get one tonight. You would need to make sure of good strong fixing and it does not stop crew moving past. Just an idea but remember i am new to all this and am sure it been done before.

Neal
__________________
Neal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 August 2004, 05:59   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: I.O.W/Bristol
Boat name: HotShot
Make: shakey
Length: 5m +
Engine: 70hp Tohatsu
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,543
If anyone can definately confirm that these types of controls can be taken apart and used on both sides I would very much like to know too!

Tim
__________________
slimtim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 August 2004, 06:00   #8
Member
 
Hightower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Fareham
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7,855
Yep, I have one of these on my RIB. You take the control lever/handle off (minding the little wires from the T&T) and re-assemble in the other side. Use Locktite on the litle screw that holds the handle on as if this comes off, your handle will fall off, not fun at 30 knots.

Andy

PS: just read your post Tim. You don't have to strip anything just to change the handle position over to the opposite side, but would recommend that you do, just to inspect and possibly grease inside.
__________________
Hightower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 August 2004, 06:32   #9
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: PORTSMOUTH
Make: Avon 5.4
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yamaha 60FE -
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,838
Great news, thanks, i'll have a go 2nite, will document and take photos each stage and post for all to share hopefully tomorrow

thank you all for your replies
__________________
ollyit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 August 2004, 08:01   #10
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Boat name: Seashell
Make: Redbay
Length: 7m +
Engine: Inboard diesel
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,263
I did the same last week; took my Mariner one apart. Right nightmare it was; got greese all over my hands, which made getting it all back together quite tricky! I think you will that that you will have to take the two covers off to be able to change the wiring over for your PTT.

I found a useful threat, and although it applies to greesing the cables, the procedure for taking it aprt should be similar:
Mariner Remote Throttle
__________________

__________________
Tim M is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 18:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.