Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 26 July 2007, 16:18   #11
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Dorset
Boat name: Pending
Make: Pending
Length: no boat
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 198
Do what all the big boat boy's do when they have the same problem ie; Sunseeker/Sealine/Princess ect ect all put Lead gun shot 'inside' the bathing platform mixed with resin to keep it in place. You can buy it in bag's (not sure where from but Google will know) move em around until you have got it right then when you have you can mix it up with resin (coloured to match the boat's hull if you like) & bond it in & flow coat it to hide it....simple
__________________

__________________
Mike...

The Titanic was built by professionals - The Ark was built by one man!
www.aqua-care.co.uk
Spike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 July 2007, 16:21   #12
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Dorset
Boat name: Pending
Make: Pending
Length: no boat
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 198
To stop 'Prop Slip' try a stainless four blade prop......worked for me grip's like brown stuff to a blanket!
__________________

__________________
Mike...

The Titanic was built by professionals - The Ark was built by one man!
www.aqua-care.co.uk
Spike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 July 2007, 07:37   #13
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: bicester, Oxford
Boat name: mach1
Make: avon SR5.4
Length: 5m +
Engine: 90hp yamaha
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 177
Chris the cavitation plate is at a very similar level to the bottom of the transom, i guess logically thats about where it should be.

Spike i have got a stainless titan prop, the slip is only when the tank is full or when doing hard turns, the extra weight on the transom seems the only option

thanks everybody
__________________
ian mcconnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 July 2007, 12:56   #14
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gloucestershire
Boat name: Osprey
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-tec 300 G2
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,013
Ian, if weight is the problem why not hang an auxilary engine on the transom (if there is enough space)

A Yamaha 4 or 5 HP weighs about 25 KGs.

Or why not fit another fuel tank in the back perhaps under the rear seat pod. I am sure you could get a bladder tank to fit in there.

Then have a fuel switch that means you can use the front tank first then the rear.

Chris
__________________
---------------------------------------------------
Chris Stevens

Born fiddler
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 July 2007, 04:26   #15
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: bicester, Oxford
Boat name: mach1
Make: avon SR5.4
Length: 5m +
Engine: 90hp yamaha
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 177
That sounds logical chris, i am having a new stainless aframe made which will be a lot wider than the old one (could not get into the rib by standing on the cavitation plate from the water,to narrow) i guess an auxillary is far better than a bag of sand

The rear seat pod carries 20ltrs already as a reserve.

thanks again
__________________
ian mcconnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 July 2007, 05:21   #16
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gloucestershire
Boat name: Osprey
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-tec 300 G2
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,013
Ian, if you can, fit the aux to the transom, its not much use hanging off the A Frame when you really need it!!!

Heres how I have mounted mine. I made up a bracket from the a frame that stops it from swivelling and a strap to the sadlle that holds the engine down tight. It takes less than 10 secs to remove both and have the engine in the water ready to start Yet I happily went wave jumping a few weeks ago with no ill affects to engine or mount.

http://rib.net/forum/attachment.php?...1&d=1181567523

Chris
__________________
---------------------------------------------------
Chris Stevens

Born fiddler
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 July 2007, 06:54   #17
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Bristol
Length: 5m +
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris View Post
Ian, if you can, fit the aux to the transom, its not much use hanging off the A Frame when you really need it!!!

Heres how I have mounted mine. I made up a bracket from the a frame that stops it from swivelling and a strap to the sadlle that holds the engine down tight. It takes less than 10 secs to remove both and have the engine in the water ready to start Yet I happily went wave jumping a few weeks ago with no ill affects to engine or mount.

http://rib.net/forum/attachment.php?...1&d=1181567523

Chris
Hi Chris,
Have you got any more/better images?

I have an old Osprey Sparrowhawk and have never been convinced there is space to fit an auxilliary without fowling the main.

Cheers,

Orve.
__________________
David G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 July 2007, 07:15   #18
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: bicester, Oxford
Boat name: mach1
Make: avon SR5.4
Length: 5m +
Engine: 90hp yamaha
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 177
Chris i would only mount to transom unfortunatly with its current aframe i would be luck to squeeze a pencil through the gap.

I guess i will start hunting for a 4/5hp on ebay.
__________________
ian mcconnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 July 2007, 15:41   #19
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gloucestershire
Boat name: Osprey
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-tec 300 G2
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,013
Ian dont know whether you want a short or long shaft (probably long shaft) but all these below give you an idea of whats on ebay.

Short shaft
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Yamaha-4HP-Out...QQcmdZViewItem

Short Shaft nice condition
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Mariner-4-hp-O...QQcmdZViewItem

Nice and perfect as an AUX but will probably fetch 350 or more.
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/5-hp-long-shaf...QQcmdZViewItem

Tatty 5HP longshaft
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/5-hp-long-shaf...QQcmdZViewItem
__________________
---------------------------------------------------
Chris Stevens

Born fiddler
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 July 2007, 15:49   #20
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gloucestershire
Boat name: Osprey
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-tec 300 G2
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,013
Orve

Don't know about the other Ospreys however mine is fairly wide and there is plenty of room for the Aux. The only time I have to be careful is when the main is tilted up and down as if it is turned to the side it will catch however when either or both engines are down there is no fouling.

Chris
__________________

__________________
---------------------------------------------------
Chris Stevens

Born fiddler
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.