Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 15 February 2006, 15:58   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Towcester
Boat name: Treliska
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 6m +
Engine: Outboard 225 Optimax
MMSI: 232009522
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 187
RIBase
Center Mount boxes

Hey everyone,

First post here on RibNet, despite reading for a while now.

I'm in the final stages of buying a Ribcraft 6.5 for a diving club, but i went to look at the now finished boat last week and discovered that the throttle box does not have a neutral lock. The enigine is a 150 Mariner Opti, and Ribcraft told me they don't know of any manufacturer that make a top-mount box with a neutral lock.

So, does anyone else? I've never driven a RIB without one, and extremely wary of getting one, especially considering that a lot of our coxswains don't get out as often as they should.....
__________________

__________________
Andy_Rs600 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 February 2006, 16:46   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Warwickshire
Boat name: True Blue
Make: Humber ocean pro 6.3
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mercury 150 opti
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 456
Hi Andy
I have got top mount controls for my new rib which I have not fitted yet. they have no button to press to unlock the neutral but the lever does drop into a neutral position held by a ball bearing. it is a genuine merc/ mariner one.
__________________

__________________
Ian Sharlot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 February 2006, 17:18   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Towcester
Boat name: Treliska
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 6m +
Engine: Outboard 225 Optimax
MMSI: 232009522
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 187
RIBase
Cracker,

does that mean you have to lift the handle, then move it forward into gear, or do you just push?

andy
__________________
Andy_Rs600 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 February 2006, 17:19   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Herne Bay
Boat name: Rotary Rescue
Make: Pacific 22
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mermaid 160
MMSI: 235021725
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 328
top mount

Correct merc/mar top mounts dont have interlocks.There arent many around that do as it not normally in a posistion where it can accidently be knocked into gear like the side mount ones
Paul
__________________
Paul F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 February 2006, 01:24   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Warwickshire
Boat name: True Blue
Make: Humber ocean pro 6.3
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mercury 150 opti
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 456
Hi Andy
I just push it forwards
__________________
Ian Sharlot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 February 2006, 03:18   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: Pwllheli-North Wales
Boat name: Delta 1
Make: Delta
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mariner 90hp Optimax
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 2,367
Andy

Its a very positive stop when going in to neutral, however when the cables get a little older it does become a little harder, make sure you have got "Platinum Cables" fitted, I would imagine Ribcraft would of fitted these anyway, these are stainless steel inner and outer and cost about 100 for the pair. They will not corrode like the standard ones and will be allot smoother.

Jono
__________________

__________________
JG Marine Services Ltd Specialist Safety Boat Services

Bodfuan Shoot Ltd Traditional British Game Shooting
Jono Garton is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 13:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.