Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 16 June 2008, 15:49   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - N Ireland
Town: Cushendall
Boat name: JanJack /
Make: RedbayBoats / Brig
Length: 8m +
Engine: Yanmar 300 / etec 50
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 81
Broken Rev. Counter/Trim Gauge

The rev. counter and trim gauge for my 50hp etec do not seem to be working. When I start the engine I get lights on the main trim gauge, but the needles on either of the gauge do not move at all.
Is this a fixable problem or will the gauges need replaced?
Were would I get replacements?

Regards

Conor
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2907.jpg
Views:	160
Size:	40.0 KB
ID:	35541  
__________________

__________________
chorscroft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 June 2008, 15:56   #2
Member
 
spartacus's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Aberdeenshire
Boat name: Sula
Make: Ribcraft 4.8m
Length: 4m +
Engine: Tohatsu 60hp + aux
MMSI: 235087213
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,268
RIBase
Double-check the wiring for this - in case you have a short, or the wires are chaffed in any way. Replacing them should be a last resort - until you've checked out this first.
__________________

__________________
spartacus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 June 2008, 17:17   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: cornwall
Boat name: nothing
Make: rib eye 430
Length: 4m +
Engine: tatsu 50
MMSI: 666
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,916
my rev counter stopped working a few weeks ago , the warning lights etc are there just no revs . Trim guage not effected though .

I asked on the etec forum and got a reply sugesting that it was more than likeley my rev counter if the lights are still working .

Yours does sound like a wiring fault to me with both guages effected .

Problem now is getting the supplying dealer to sort it out , they don't want to send me a new rev counter untill mine is certified as faulty , but they are in Brum and me in cornwall .
__________________
ian parkes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 April 2009, 11:42   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - N Ireland
Town: Cushendall
Boat name: JanJack /
Make: RedbayBoats / Brig
Length: 8m +
Engine: Yanmar 300 / etec 50
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 81
It's been a while but I'm finally getting round to fixing some of the minor things on the rib and I'm now onto the gauges.
I've checked the wiring and it all seems to be fine so I'm presuming the gauges are broken.

I'm not concerned about the trim gauge but would like a working rev counter.

Where could I get a replacement gauge or could I fit a third party rev counter?
How would I go about this?

Cheers

Conor
__________________
chorscroft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 April 2009, 11:54   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: Here
Boat name: doggypaddle
Make: Avon 5.4 Searider
Length: 5m +
Engine: yamaha 80
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,107
before replacing the gauge check you have 12 volts feed and good earth to the tacho, then check the signal wire for ac signal with an ac volt range dmm or frequency range. if both gauges don't work and failed together then theres a 99.9% chance its the power supply or return that are at fault. checking this may save you a lot of money
__________________
I am usually not as green as i am cabbage looking.
doggypaddle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 April 2009, 12:01   #6
RIBnet admin team
 
willk's Avatar
 
Country: Ireland
Make: Redbay Boats
Length: 9m +
Engine: 370hp
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 12,927
RIBase
Hi Conor, I've had both those gauges lie down last season too, both had to be replaced. Redbay replaced the Rev counter under Warranty (I collected it in Ballycastle, so supplied locally) and got a second hand trim gauge from them for 25 squid. I suspect that the counter will run to major money
__________________
willk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 April 2009, 12:03   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - N Ireland
Town: Cushendall
Boat name: JanJack /
Make: RedbayBoats / Brig
Length: 8m +
Engine: Yanmar 300 / etec 50
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 81
Can these all be checked with a standard voltmeter?
Also the etec gauges seem to be plugged in via connectors - Do I just unplug the connector and measure the pins?

Conor
__________________

__________________
chorscroft is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 14:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.