Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 30 November 2008, 05:29   #1
JSP
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southport
Boat name: Qudos
Make: 5.4 Searider
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yam 115 V4
MMSI: 235068784
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,930
Aux on a 5.4m

What's the smallest sized motor for an Aux on a 5.4m hull?
I have a 2.5hp mercury but I'm guessing I could do with around 4-6hp?
The 2.5 merc only has an inboard fuel tank which is a pain as I'd like the option to run of main tanks.
__________________

__________________
JSP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 November 2008, 05:39   #2
RIBnet admin team
 
Poly's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: 2 stroke YAM 20 HP
MMSI: 235089819
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10,114
JSP - I have moved boats that are 6.5m with a 2HP engine quite comfortably (in fact a 5m+ boat once towed my sailing dinghy with a 2HP engine) - but in anything but calm conditions with minimal tide you won't make much if any progress. Perceived wisdom on here is that 1HP per m of hull length is about right for an aux. Not sure how much space there is on the transom of your 5.4 - but that may limit your options somewhat.

In terms of fuel tank - running off the main tank is a nice option - but bear in mind that a lot of engine problems are fuel related so in terms of redundancy it is desirable to have a separate tank etc. for the aux.
__________________
Poly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 November 2008, 06:29   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Essex/Vendee
Boat name: shockwave,Voluntry 2
Make: Pac 22/ searider5.4
Length: 6m +
Engine: 180hp turbo,yam 90
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,015
I would have said if you have a flooding hull it wont preform as well as one on a sealed hull
__________________
PeterR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 November 2008, 06:49   #4
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: WhiteNoise/Dominator
Make: Ballistic 7.8/SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Opti 225/Yam 85
MMSI: 235090687/235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12,645
RIBase
You probably won't have room for any bigger than the 2.5hp merc on a 5.4 if you want an A-frame without fitting an aux bracket. I can only just get my DT2.2 on mine. It'll do 4 knots max with the 2.2-better than nothing but not ideal.

I have a fuel connector on a bit of hose so I can refuel my aux from the main tank by pumping the primer bulb.
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 November 2008, 07:16   #5
Member
 
spartacus's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Aberdeenshire
Boat name: Sula
Make: Ribcraft 4.8m
Length: 4m +
Engine: Tohatsu 60hp + aux
MMSI: 235087213
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,268
RIBase
I managed to squeeze a Tohatsu 3.5hp (2-stroke) on my Zodiac 7 man Pro (4.20m). It's available as a 4hp (4-stroke), but was just too wide for my particualr set-up. Older versions of the Yamaha 4hp 2-stroke do come up now and again but they're like hen's teeth.
__________________
spartacus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 November 2008, 07:27   #6
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: WhiteNoise/Dominator
Make: Ballistic 7.8/SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Opti 225/Yam 85
MMSI: 235090687/235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12,645
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by spartacus View Post
I managed to squeeze a Tohatsu 3.5hp (2-stroke) on my Zodiac 7 man Pro (4.20m). It's available as a 4hp (4-stroke), but was just too wide for my particualr set-up. Older versions of the Yamaha 4hp 2-stroke do come up now and again but they're like hen's teeth.
There's even less room on a 5.4.
Here's a (badly blown up) pic of mine with the DT2.2 on it-they were just touching when both are tilted and about 2mm clearance at full lock when the main engine is down.
Of course, you could fit a 4-6hp if you don't have an A-frame.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	auxiliary.JPG
Views:	140
Size:	19.9 KB
ID:	39092  
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 November 2008, 08:14   #7
JSP
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southport
Boat name: Qudos
Make: 5.4 Searider
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yam 115 V4
MMSI: 235068784
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,930
Thanks for the info everyone. I may try and get away with my 2.5 then. It's a cracking little engine. I like your idea of having a pipe to fill from the main tanks Nos.
The Aframe on yours is fixed on the outside of the transom isn't it Nos? I'm thinking of fitting a twin tubed to the deck. So, I would have more room BUT I think I'd be tw*ting the Aframe with the tiller arm. One to think about.
__________________
JSP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 November 2008, 08:21   #8
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: WhiteNoise/Dominator
Make: Ballistic 7.8/SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Opti 225/Yam 85
MMSI: 235090687/235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12,645
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by JSP View Post
Thanks for the info everyone. I may try and get away with my 2.5 then. It's a cracking little engine. I like your idea of having a pipe to fill from the main tanks Nos.
It works quite well. I'm thinking of putting a T-piece into the fuel line on the aux and fittingthe fuel connector to that so I can pump fuel straight up into the tank without having to open the filler cap next.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JSP View Post
The Aframe on yours is fixed on the outside of the transom isn't it Nos? I'm thinking of fitting a twin tubed to the deck. So, I would have more room BUT I think I'd be tw*ting the Aframe with the tiller arm. One to think about.
Your aux will protrude into the boat anyway so having the A-frame either side of the transom won't make much difference. You still need to be able to do the transom clamps up.
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 November 2008, 08:34   #9
JSP
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southport
Boat name: Qudos
Make: 5.4 Searider
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yam 115 V4
MMSI: 235068784
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,930
Bugger it I'll buy paddles
__________________
JSP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 November 2008, 08:38   #10
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: WhiteNoise/Dominator
Make: Ballistic 7.8/SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Opti 225/Yam 85
MMSI: 235090687/235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12,645
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by JSP View Post
Bugger it I'll buy paddles


You could always do what Bedajim did on his sr4 and make an A-frame that the aux attaches to.
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 19:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.