Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 10 December 2012, 05:51   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: Wildheart
Make: Humber/Delta Seasafe
Length: 5m +
Engine: Merc 60 Clamshell
MMSI: 235068449
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,611
Anyone used the Merc prop calculator?

Like it says in the title -

I used it out of curiosity, and granted my engine doesn't show up on their database, but picking a 2000 60Hp 2- stroke & a "Fish & ski" (closest combo I could get to my museum! ) it reckoned I needed a 15" x 10.25 dia.

Based on my run with a working tacho, I reckon I need a 14" based on my current 13"x10.25 & the fact the boat was about as light as it was going to get. (me + 1/2 full tanks). a 15" would park it right in the middle of the reccommended revs (I want to go top of the rev band as more weight (passengers etc) will slow it down a bit). I was surprised it was so close, so am now curious - did I just luck out?

So, this Q is more down to idle curiosity than anything else, but if you used it, what results did you get with which boat choice? (bearing in mind there is no "rib" option on the boat drop down...) and how close is the result to real life on your setup?
__________________

__________________
9D280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 December 2012, 07:18   #2
Member
 
Landlockedpirate's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: St Helens
Boat name: Wine Down
Make: Maxum
Length: 8m +
Engine: Inboard
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 934
A lot depends on your boat. Mine is a main stream, mass produced USA boat with a standard Mercruiser/Alpha combo. The calculator is spot on.

But with older engines or more unusual boats its more of an educated guess.
__________________

__________________
Landlockedpirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 December 2012, 08:20   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Looe
Make: Delta
Length: 4m +
Engine: Mercury
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,335
Yeah use it all the time, its pretty close within a pitch usually. But you need to put as much info in a possible.
__________________
Black Dog Marine
www.blackdogmarine.com
Turbodiesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 December 2012, 09:59   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: Wildheart
Make: Humber/Delta Seasafe
Length: 5m +
Engine: Merc 60 Clamshell
MMSI: 235068449
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,611
Turbo,

It's the "as much as possible" when I have a rib (not on boat menu) with an engine not shown on the engine menu that triggered my question.

E.g. How do I know what their definition of a sport / fisher is? - is the Hull V a deep like mine, or a shallow (Attaque / Avon Adventure), does a sport / fisher have rails like mine or smooth like a destroyer...... etc etc etc.

Old engine I can understand not being on there, but on the flip side, there are a fair few boats out there with older lumps on the back.....
__________________
9D280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 December 2012, 11:43   #5
RIBnet supporter
 
jambo's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Girvan & Tayvallich
Boat name: Breawatch
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: Mercury 150 F/stroke
MMSI: ex directory!!
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 5,790
RIBase
I am with you 9D I have tried the site a few times but I am not confident in their conclusion as it does not state rib.

Sent from my iPhone using Rib.net
__________________
jambo
'Carpe Diem'
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club
Member of SABS ( Scottish West Division)
jambo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 December 2012, 12:30   #6
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,596
RIBase
Yeah, tried it meself yonks ago, like you I found that "RIB" wasn't on the menu, neither was the option for twin engines, so pretty useless really.
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 December 2012, 15:20   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Looe
Make: Delta
Length: 4m +
Engine: Mercury
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,335
I think we use the center console option!
__________________
Black Dog Marine
www.blackdogmarine.com
Turbodiesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 December 2012, 05:44   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Looe
Make: Delta
Length: 4m +
Engine: Mercury
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,335
No sorry, use offshore fishing as its classed as a deep V hull.
__________________
Black Dog Marine
www.blackdogmarine.com
Turbodiesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 December 2012, 06:36   #9
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,596
RIBase
Just been back & had another look at it, it's changed a bit since I used it last. I can now input twin engines, unfortunately it won't let me put 115hp in, the minimum it will allow is 150. Also the speed is either in MPH or KPH no option for Kn, that's handy on a boaty website
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.