Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 14 April 2012, 09:07   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: plymouth
Make: Ribtec
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mercury 175 optimax
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 350
anyone tried a mercmonitor?

Has anyone tried a mercury Merc Monitor on their engine? Is it a gimmick or does it display useful information? I cant find much out about them;whats the difference between a level 1 and a level 2? Is the eco screen worthwhile?

Does anybody know the price of them?I cant find any pricing either apart from US sites.

Thanks
__________________

__________________
Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 April 2012, 09:36   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Looe
Make: Delta
Length: 4m +
Engine: Mercury
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,335
Hello,

Talk to Martini we fitted one on his Rib, they are not cheap price to you would be 711.25 inc vat.
Click the link for more info

MercMonitor | Mercury Marine
__________________

__________________
Black Dog Marine
www.blackdogmarine.com
Turbodiesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 April 2012, 10:04   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: bicester
Length: no boat
Engine: outboard only
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 894
as the moniter fits nearly all the four stroke and optimaxs except verado and the there are a lot of sustems that are not applicable to the opti you can switch them of , the level 1 and 2 are for setting up the moniter
__________________
uncle al is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 April 2012, 10:07   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: plymouth
Make: Ribtec
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mercury 175 optimax
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 350
is that for the all singing all dancing one with nmea?
__________________
Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 April 2012, 10:09   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: plymouth
Make: Ribtec
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mercury 175 optimax
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 350
what do you mean by setting up the monitor?
__________________
Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 April 2012, 11:15   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: bicester
Length: no boat
Engine: outboard only
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 894
you have to go through the differant settings an example is say for an opti you would switch of the oil preasure cos it aint got any cos its a two stroke , just go through the gauge functions switching on or of as req
__________________
uncle al is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 April 2012, 11:34   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: plymouth
Make: Ribtec
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mercury 175 optimax
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 350
Quote:
Originally Posted by uncle al View Post
you have to go through the differant settings an example is say for an opti you would switch of the oil preasure cos it aint got any cos its a two stroke , just go through the gauge functions switching on or of as req
So do you want a level 1 or 2 for an opti?
__________________
Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 April 2012, 12:07   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: bicester
Length: no boat
Engine: outboard only
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 894
level 1 is your basic setting ie time illumination that sort of settings, level2 is down to the nitty grity fuel temp ect BUT if the sensors are not there obviously there will be nothing to read on the gauge
__________________
uncle al is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 April 2012, 12:54   #9
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: plymouth
Make: Ribtec
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mercury 175 optimax
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 350
does the opti have all that info? Which would you recommend? I was looking at the eco monitor thing on it
__________________
Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 April 2012, 05:48   #10
Member
 
martini's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: jersey
Boat name: Martini II
Make: Arctic 28/FC470
Length: 8m +
Engine: twin 225Opti/50hp 2t
MMSI: 235067688
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,021
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turbodiesel
Hello,

Talk to Martini we fitted one on his Rib, they are not cheap price to you would be 711.25 inc vat.
Click the link for more info

MercMonitor | Mercury Marine
1st one in the uk and what a waste of money!

It doesn't really tell you anything the SC1000 gauges don't. I only really bought it to act as an N2K gateway so I could display engine and fuel data on my garmin mfd and it doesn't do that particularly well either.

If you want a larger display than the SC1000 then the "vessel view" is probably better

Sent from my portable speaking device using Rib.net
__________________

__________________
martini is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.