Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 15 April 2012, 06:45   #11
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: plymouth
Make: Ribtec
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mercury 175 optimax
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 350
so the eco view thing is pointless?thats saved me a few quid then!!
__________________

__________________
Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 April 2012, 11:22   #12
Member
 
martini's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: jersey
Boat name: Martini II
Make: Arctic 28/FC470
Length: 8m +
Engine: twin 225Opti/50hp 2t
MMSI: 235067688
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,021
Doesn't take long to figure out your boats best cruising speed, smart craft will tell you your litres per hour etc anyway. So yes, pretty pointless!

Sent from my portable speaking device using Rib.net
__________________

__________________
martini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 April 2012, 13:23   #13
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: plymouth
Make: Ribtec
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mercury 175 optimax
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 350
but...it does do a range of colours...thats pretty funky!!
__________________
Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 April 2012, 15:12   #14
Member
 
martini's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: jersey
Boat name: Martini II
Make: Arctic 28/FC470
Length: 8m +
Engine: twin 225Opti/50hp 2t
MMSI: 235067688
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,021
700 worth of funkiness??
__________________
martini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 April 2012, 16:44   #15
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Looe
Make: Delta
Length: 4m +
Engine: Mercury
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,335
Quote:
Originally Posted by martini View Post
1st one in the uk and what a waste of money!

It doesn't really tell you anything the SC1000 gauges don't. I only really bought it to act as an N2K gateway so I could display engine and fuel data on my garmin mfd and it doesn't do that particularly well either.

If you want a larger display than the SC1000 then the "vessel view" is probably better

Sent from my portable speaking device using Rib.net
I totally agree i would go for the Vessel view its much better!!
__________________
Black Dog Marine
www.blackdogmarine.com
Turbodiesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 April 2012, 17:42   #16
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: plymouth
Make: Ribtec
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mercury 175 optimax
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 350
and how much is that?probably more
__________________
Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 April 2012, 03:46   #17
Member
 
Cookee's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Salcombe, Devon, UK
Boat name: BananaShark
Make: BananaShark
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2xYanmar 260 diesels
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4,225
Quote:
Originally Posted by martini View Post
I only really bought it to act as an N2K gateway so I could display engine and fuel data on my garmin mfd and it doesn't do that particularly well either.
That's disappointing! Is that due to the information coming out of your motors? Would it be better running on Verado's or inboards with more data do you think?
__________________
Cookee
Originally Posted by Zippy
When a boat looks that good who needs tubes!!!
Cookee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 April 2012, 15:55   #18
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Looe
Make: Delta
Length: 4m +
Engine: Mercury
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,335
The Verado does show more info, but i have been looking into the prices today, if you want a non N2K gateway gauge it is about 180 which does most things you would ever need.
__________________
Black Dog Marine
www.blackdogmarine.com
Turbodiesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 April 2012, 17:31   #19
Member
 
martini's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: jersey
Boat name: Martini II
Make: Arctic 28/FC470
Length: 8m +
Engine: twin 225Opti/50hp 2t
MMSI: 235067688
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,021
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cookee

That's disappointing! Is that due to the information coming out of your motors? Would it be better running on Verado's or inboards with more data do you think?
That wasn't really a fair statement I suppose. The merc monitor will export all the available data from the engine(s). How much you see and how it's displayed is down to the mfd obviously. What annoyed me about the merc monitor was the info displayed on itself. Even though I bought the multiple engine version, you have to select one engine or the other as the master and the monitor only displays data from that engine.

I had a SC1000 speedo in place before I replaced with the merc monitor, along with 2 SC1000 tachometers. Normally when underway I'd have rpm's displayed on the tachometers and trim of both engines on the speedo. Now I can only see the trim of one engine on the merc monitor so I use it to show trip data instead but have to scroll through the screens on the tachometers to get trim values which really annoys me, I want to see trim all the time.
__________________
martini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 April 2012, 03:22   #20
Member
 
Cookee's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Salcombe, Devon, UK
Boat name: BananaShark
Make: BananaShark
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2xYanmar 260 diesels
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4,225
Quote:
Originally Posted by martini View Post
That wasn't really a fair statement I suppose. The merc monitor will export all the available data from the engine(s). How much you see and how it's displayed is down to the mfd obviously. What annoyed me about the merc monitor was the info displayed on itself. Even though I bought the multiple engine version, you have to select one engine or the other as the master and the monitor only displays data from that engine.

I had a SC1000 speedo in place before I replaced with the merc monitor, along with 2 SC1000 tachometers. Normally when underway I'd have rpm's displayed on the tachometers and trim of both engines on the speedo. Now I can only see the trim of one engine on the merc monitor so I use it to show trip data instead but have to scroll through the screens on the tachometers to get trim values which really annoys me, I want to see trim all the time.
It's not configurable as a pop up like the vessel view? A big error in the programming I think!
__________________

__________________
Cookee
Originally Posted by Zippy
When a boat looks that good who needs tubes!!!
Cookee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.