Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 07 April 2011, 09:35   #1
Member
 
Country: Luxembourg
Town: Hesperange
Make: Searider 5.4
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yamaha 75HP
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 170
33C cable to Mercury adaptor

Hello,

I need your advice. I bought Mercury control box and would like to use it with 33C cables (Teleflex red one).

Do you think this stuff will resolve my problem? http://www.marinemegastore.com/produ...t_id=ENGCON001

Thank you for your answers.
__________________

__________________
zubol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 April 2011, 17:25   #2
ADI
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: scotland
Make: a few
Length: 6m +
Engine: outboard / inboard
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 68
yes

What engine are you connecting too ?
__________________

__________________
ADI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 April 2011, 03:30   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Hamble
Length: 9m +
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,317
Depends on which control box you have, don't think they'll fit a gen 2 style
__________________
It is better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak and remove all doubt!
Dirk Diggler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 April 2011, 02:48   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: wormit
Boat name: lots of them
Make: various
Length: no boat
Engine: all types
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 388
Yes, these will convert 33c cable to Mercury box. You can buy a hybrid cable that has Mercury end at control box with 33c at engine which will be cheaper to buy than than that kit + cables. Max 16' long.
__________________
Davie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 April 2011, 04:05   #5
Member
 
biffer's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: swanwick/hamble
Boat name: stormchaser
Make: custom rib
Length: 8m +
Engine: inboard/diesel
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 3,848
use the converters, the thinking behind that is, if you break a cable it's a lot easier to find a common cable, more chance of getting one in a local chandlers
__________________
biffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 April 2011, 04:30   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: West Wales
Make: Vipermax 5.8, SR4.7
Length: 5m +
Engine: 150 Opti, F50EFi
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,298
Quote:
Originally Posted by biffer View Post
use the converters, the thinking behind that is, if you break a cable it's a lot easier to find a common cable, more chance of getting one in a local chandlers
Yep

Otherwise, if you go with the hybrids, you'll probably buy a spare cable to keep on board, which you'll never end up using.
__________________
Downhilldai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 April 2011, 06:44   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Hamble
Length: 9m +
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,317
Quote:
Originally Posted by Davie View Post
. You can buy a hybrid cable that has Mercury end at control box with 33c at engine which will be cheaper to buy than than that kit + cables. Max 16' long.

That's known as a Mariner cable....


http://www.aquafax.co.uk/html/produc...s.asp?ID=15172
__________________
It is better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak and remove all doubt!
Dirk Diggler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 April 2011, 06:58   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: West Wales
Make: Vipermax 5.8, SR4.7
Length: 5m +
Engine: 150 Opti, F50EFi
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,298
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dirk Diggler View Post
That's known as a Mariner cable....
Yamahariner
__________________

__________________
Downhilldai is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 16:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.