Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 22 April 2008, 08:09   #21
Member
 
Bigmuz7's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Glasgow
Boat name: stramash
Make: Tornado
Length: 5m +
Engine: Etec 90
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,068
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cookee View Post
You won't regret getting the Navman / Smartcraft integrated instruments as well - the best screen out of all of the Smartcraft compatible things, although there may an issue with waterproofness - keep all of the receipts just in case! You can integrate all of your passage planning with the fuel info from the engine and monitor everything with one GPS/Depth sounder/engine instrument!
I use just the smart guages and wondered about this unit instead, are there any other bits you need to go on the engine, or is it all contained in the instrument 'box' ?
__________________

__________________
Bigmuz7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 April 2008, 16:21   #22
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Looe
Make: Delta
Length: 4m +
Engine: Mercury
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,335
All you need is a navman gateway, just a small harness that plugs into your junction box. And of course the Navman unit itself!!
__________________

__________________
Turbodiesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 April 2008, 17:26   #23
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Woldingham
Boat name: Black Gold
Make: Scorpion
Length: 8m +
Engine: Mercury 300 XS
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 65
Gateway

I have a System View Race edition and a gateway to my Northstar M121 which looks the same as the Navman. We are just learning how to use all the info provided. Gavin

www.rib-racers.com
__________________
howe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 April 2008, 17:54   #24
Member
 
Bigmuz7's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Glasgow
Boat name: stramash
Make: Tornado
Length: 5m +
Engine: Etec 90
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,068
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turbodiesel View Post
All you need is a navman gateway, just a small harness that plugs into your junction box. And of course the Navman unit itself!!
dumb question then ... I take it this is only compatible with mercury products, or is this information displayable on any other manufacturers hardware through some common data standard ?
__________________
Bigmuz7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 April 2008, 08:41   #25
Member
 
Cookee's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Salcombe, Devon, UK
Boat name: BananaShark
Make: BananaShark
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2xYanmar 260 diesels
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4,225
Quote:
Originally Posted by howe View Post
I have a System View Race edition and a gateway to my Northstar M121 which looks the same as the Navman. We are just learning how to use all the info provided. Gavin

www.rib-racers.com
Shame you bought both - the Northstar/Navman (same unit different branding) is IMHO the better display - we put the System View on one of our demo boats and it isn't the best "daylight" display in the world, but the Navman is very good indeed. What does the race edition do that the regular system view doesn't?

Bigmuz - the Smartcraft system is for Mercury compatible products only although other companies are releasing similar products all of the time. Mercury also do the same docking system that they do on the big inboards for the Verados now - you can dock with a joystick!
__________________
Cookee
Originally Posted by Zippy
When a boat looks that good who needs tubes!!!
Cookee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23 April 2008, 20:06   #26
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Woldingham
Boat name: Black Gold
Make: Scorpion
Length: 8m +
Engine: Mercury 300 XS
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 65
Race View

Cookee, the answer is I'm not sure what it does beyond the regular offering. As we have no dials on the boat I did want something to show engine info while we are looking at the map...I agree with the comment about brightness as the Northstar screen goes brighter on max settings. It also seems to display some info that I don't see on the Race View - more fault info for example.
By the way, we are hopefully back on for a West Country trip this weekend.
Gavin

www.rib-racers.com
__________________
howe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 April 2008, 11:47   #27
Member
 
Cookee's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Salcombe, Devon, UK
Boat name: BananaShark
Make: BananaShark
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2xYanmar 260 diesels
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4,225
Quote:
Originally Posted by howe View Post
Cookee, the answer is I'm not sure what it does beyond the regular offering. As we have no dials on the boat I did want something to show engine info while we are looking at the map...I agree with the comment about brightness as the Northstar screen goes brighter on max settings. It also seems to display some info that I don't see on the Race View - more fault info for example.
By the way, we are hopefully back on for a West Country trip this weekend.
Gavin

www.rib-racers.com
It's possible with both systems to tweak them to show what you need to see - both systems will flag up any faults as soon as they happen whatever screen you're in, so you won't have to keep flicking through to make sure everything is ok.

You have my number - call me if you get down our way and I will be happy to help you with whatever I can to do with the boat (and the screens!).
__________________
Cookee
Originally Posted by Zippy
When a boat looks that good who needs tubes!!!
Cookee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 August 2008, 05:27   #28
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Looe
Make: Delta
Length: 4m +
Engine: Mercury
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,335
Quote:
Originally Posted by martini View Post
I hate you! Make sure you get some pics

Photos as promised, great boat 50+ knts!!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Image014.jpg
Views:	183
Size:	116.6 KB
ID:	36631   Click image for larger version

Name:	Image008.jpg
Views:	154
Size:	94.6 KB
ID:	36632  
__________________
Turbodiesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 August 2008, 11:35   #29
Member
 
spartacus's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Aberdeenshire
Boat name: Sula
Make: Ribcraft 4.8m
Length: 4m +
Engine: Tohatsu 60hp + aux
MMSI: 235087213
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,267
RIBase
More's the point - what's Sweden doing with a Navy anyway!!!!
__________________
spartacus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 August 2008, 13:39   #30
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Inverness
Boat name: none
Make: none
Length: 5m +
Engine: none
MMSI: none
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,908
Whats the dfference between smartcraft and Lowrance Nmea 2000 compatible stuff, the description sounds much the same to me?
__________________

__________________
BruceB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.