Old 22 September 2012, 16:47   #1

Town: Thornbury
Make: Avon Searider 4m
Length: 4m +
Engine: 50hp tohatsu tldi
25hp Tohatsu to 30hp

Tomorrow I am going to pick up a 4m honwave SIB with a 2006 25hp 2 stroke tohatsu on the back. Can these engines be modified to a 30hp on a reasonable budget? Sorry to be fussy but I would need specifics e.g. if there was a restrictor plate then where is it/what does it look like/maybe a picture sorry I am new to engines so if some just said a random part I would not know where it was.

Another thing was, what do you think of these engines? Are they reliable and would it push the SIB well? Would you be able to pull ringos and kneeboarders?

thanks, Henry. P.S. I am new
Old 22 September 2012, 17:58   #2

Town: lancashire
Make: xpro 380
Engine: tohatsu 20hp 4stroke
RIBase
i have a honwave t40 with tohatsu 20 4stroke goes well 5up .proper goes 2up would pull ringo no problem
Old 22 September 2012, 21:28   #3

Town: Thornbury
Make: Avon Searider 4m
Engine: 50hp tohatsu tldi
thanks for the reply buddy
Old 23 September 2012, 00:04   #4

Town: Lima-Peru
Boat name: Nautile
Make: Sea Rider 450 Rib
Engine: Tohatsu 5/18/30 HP
Henry, you must change carb gasket, buy the 30 HP model and depending on the model advance +5º timing mark. A 30 HP will fly a 4 mt sib, just inflate well to factory recommended working pressure to perform as expected. There is plenty info on this section about modifying Tohatsu 25 to 30 HP , including pics of the procedure. A matter to search.

Happy Boating
Old 23 September 2012, 19:17   #5

Town: Marple
Make: Zodiac
Length: under 3m
Engine: Tohatsu 9.8
If I were you I'd try the boat out with the engine on it first, you are worrying about the performance and have not even tried it out on the water yet!
Get the boat out on the water and see how it performs, you may find it goes like a rocket and you don't need that extra 5bhp.
Old 24 September 2012, 17:01   #6