Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 15 November 2012, 09:30   #11
Member
 
Leapy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Sheepy Parva
Boat name: Sadly Sold
Length: no boat
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,728
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erin View Post
have to hit carriage return first before typing
Aye ... these early mechanical typewriter based iPads are such a pain, aren't they?
__________________

__________________
Leapy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 November 2012, 09:50   #12
RIBnet admin team
 
willk's Avatar
 
Country: Ireland
Make: Redbay Boats
Length: 9m +
Engine: 370hp
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 12,925
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anchorhandler View Post
My biggest gripe though is the short timeout period after logging in.... Iv lost countless messages because its timed out and i get a message saying something about already being logged in?? It then prompts me to press the back button to find my reply has disapeared and i have to write it again.... Doh!
Does this happen when you have checked the "Keep me logged in" box? If you don't select this, your session times out very quickly if you don't move between posts etc. I have this trouble at my place of (occasional) work, where there would be a risk of my flying monkeys wresting control from me if I left my account "live".

There'd be wigs on the green then!
__________________

__________________
willk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 November 2012, 10:06   #13
Member
 
Anchorhandler's Avatar
 
Country: France
Town: Huisnes sur Mer
Boat name: Raufoss
Make: Avon
Length: 4m +
Engine: Mercury 50
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 789
Quote:
Originally Posted by willk

Does this happen when you have checked the "Keep me logged in" box? If you don't select this, your session times out very quickly if you don't move between posts etc. I have this trouble at my place of (occasional) work, where there would be a risk of my flying monkeys wresting control from me if I left my account "live".

There'd be wigs on the green then!
Whats this 'keep me logged in' button?....

Just kidding.. Yes it does it even after selecting that option.
There are times though when, like you, i prefer to be logged out automatically but even when i get prompted to log in when attempting to reply to a thread.... I get the message and i know all is lost.

I think it does this when i log in on my pc at work but then post something from my iphone when I'm out and about away from my office...

Funny, i wonder if its possible to quantify the amount of lost productivity at the workplace as a direct result of Rib.net? :-)

Anyway, Next time it happens il copy/paste the error message onto this thread....

Cheers Willk

Simon

Sent from my iPhone using Rib.net
__________________
C'est pas l'homme qui prend la mer, c'est la mer qui prend l'homme....
Anchorhandler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 November 2012, 10:16   #14
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Surrey
Boat name: Fugly & Rokraider 1
Make: Pac 22 & Porter 6.5
Length: 6m +
Engine: Ford 250 & jet,DT140
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 681
This might help?

__________________
Rokraider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 November 2012, 11:15   #15
Administrator
 
John Kennett's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Brighton
Length: 3m +
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 6,830
Eggsbox 360 anyone?

I use the RIBnet iPhone app almost exclusively and the only time I get an error is if I have a dodgy internet connection. Some people have reported connection errors recently, so that may be connected, but I think that's sorted now.

I think that the only confirmed issue is the greyed out "Send" button which is solved by hitting "return".

As far as I know there is no significant problem with the app itself. If you are having recurring problems there are a few things you can try:

1 - Force the app to close: double click the home button to display the app switching bar, touch and hold one of the icons until they go wobbly and show an x in the corner, touch the x on the RIBnet app. Then restart it.

2 - Reboot your iPhone/Pad/Pod: hold down the sleep/wake button and the home button together and keep holding them until the screen goes black

3 - Delete and reinstall the app: on the home screen that includes the RIBnet app icon, touch and hold one of the icons until they go wobbly and show an x in the corner. Then touch the x on the RIBnet app and touch "yes" to delete it. Then reinstall from the app Store.

Please bear in mind that the app is produced by a third party developer (it's a white label version of Forum Runner), and that it's free and comes with no warranty! We'll always try to make sure that it runs as well as possible, but there's sometimes a limit to what can be done.
__________________
John Kennett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 November 2012, 11:25   #16
Member
 
Leapy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Sheepy Parva
Boat name: Sadly Sold
Length: no boat
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,728
John ... I've done all of that ... closing the App ... rebooting the phone ... and all is then ok until the next time.

Again ... this is the ONLY App that causes problems
__________________
Leapy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 November 2012, 11:52   #17
Administrator
 
John Kennett's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Brighton
Length: 3m +
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 6,830
Odd. Can you try installing the generic Forum Runner app and seeing if that's any different?
__________________
John Kennett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 November 2012, 12:25   #18
Member
 
Country: Luxembourg
Town: Luxembourg
Boat name: Kalish
Make: Humber Ocean Pro 6.3
Length: 6m +
Engine: 175 Mercury Optimax
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 408
RIBase
no problem with mine - humber owner ....
Gilles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 November 2012, 13:57   #19
Member
 
Leapy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Sheepy Parva
Boat name: Sadly Sold
Length: no boat
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,728
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Kennett View Post
Odd. Can you try installing the generic Forum Runner app and seeing if that's any different?
Forum Runner - vBulletin @ 1.69? The one whose reviews start off like this:

Dreadful
Dreadful
Freezes
Poor
Awful
.
.
.


Just a thought ... does moving from one WiFi provider to another WiFi provider to 3G (say when in a Shopping Mall) cause a problem with an open RIBnet App? Nothing else is affected on the phone - normally this type of scenario is handled seamlessly - but it's a variable related to connectivity.
__________________
Leapy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 November 2012, 13:58   #20
Member
 
Leapy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Sheepy Parva
Boat name: Sadly Sold
Length: no boat
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,728
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gilles View Post
no problem with mine - humber owner ....
Smug git
__________________

__________________
Leapy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

« RIBnet "down" | Top | App »
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.