Old 21 March 2011, 16:49   #1
RIBnet admin team

Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: Tohatsu 30HP
MMSI: 235089819
New Android App

I have the new Ribnet android app on my phone. I'm pretty new to this smart phone business (my last phone could just about take a picture so long as you didn't want to recognise the subject!).

I can view threads, see the pictures - even read someone's profile - but how do I post? I've not been asked to login so I guess this is the first step...
Old 21 March 2011, 17:41   #2

Make: HumberOceanOffshore
Length: 8m +
Engine: Volvo KAD300/DPX
[YOUTUBE][/YOUTUBE]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Polwart View Post
I have the new Ribnet android app on my phone. I'm pretty new to this smart phone business (my last phone could just about take a picture so long as you didn't want to recognise the subject!).

I can view threads, see the pictures - even read someone's profile - but how do I post? I've not been asked to login so I guess this is the first step...
Why don't you just log on via internet same as your puter like wot I'm doing now to reply to your post? Easy.
Old 21 March 2011, 19:25   #3
RIBnet admin team

Quote:
Originally Posted by jwalker View Post
[YOUTUBE][/YOUTUBE]Why don't you just log on via internet same as your puter like wot I'm doing now to reply to your post? Easy.
Because:
1. Other people tell me uploading pictures from a phone is tricky/impossible (or is that just those iPhones?).
2. I assume the intention was that you could post as well as read - so either there is a bug or some part of the user interface is not that intuitive
3. Because the layout has been specifically designed for viewing on a small screen which makes it easier than all the sliding about / zooming in/out required for a full size internet page.
4. I've just got a Smartphone because society made me feel inferior without one, I therefore need to get all possible apps on said smartphone, without which my life will be incomplete!