Old 04 May 2017, 17:27   #1

Town: Victoria BC
Make: InBetweenBoats
Length: 7m +
UK commercial skipper quals

I've been running RHIBS in Canada since 2002, and am thinking of looking for work as a skipper back in the UK. I've been doing SAR and wildlife tours over here, and I'm qualified by Transport Canada for boats under 5 tonnes with max 20 passengers up to 25 miles offshore. I'm unfamiliar with equivalencies in the UK though. I doubt there will be any automatic transfer of my Canadian quals (aside from the STCW stuff), so what courses/certs do I need to get to get similar work in the UK? And where do you get them?
Old 04 May 2017, 18:54   #2

Boat name: ...
Probably the most comparable qualification would be an RYA advanced powerboat although you may need to up that depending on passenger numbers / boat size etc.
To do that commercially you need sea survival , a first aid qualification, vhf radio , a valid medical certificate , yacht master coastal theory knowledge before sitting your course and exam. You then need an RYA PPR certificate. Sounds a lot but you are probably there or there abouts already. Where in the uk are you considering ?
Old 04 May 2017, 18:55   #3

There will be MCA equivalent qualifications such as boatmaster tickets but I'm not as familiar with them and I'm sure other members can advise
Old 04 May 2017, 19:13   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hf500 View Post
Probably the most comparable qualification would be an RYA advanced powerboat although you may need to up that depending on passenger numbers / boat size etc.
To do that commercially you need sea survival , a first aid qualification, vhf radio , a valid medical certificate , yacht master coastal theory knowledge before sitting your course and exam. You then need an RYA PPR certificate. Sounds a lot but you are probably there or there abouts already. Where in the uk are you considering ?