Old 09 December 2007, 13:41   #1

Town: birmingham
Length: 5m +
safety/work boat hire

i've been running a water safety business for the last 6 years, we mainly provide safety equipment. Having been approached by a number of clients seeking safety boat hire we are now considering supplying such a service (for both coastal and inland work).

Just looking for anyones comments,

- Does anyone subcontracting out work to skippers using your our own boats, if this successful? How much is the going daily rate?

- I understand we should be coded (for the coastal work)

- What would anyone recommend for the first boat?

- I would be looking to employ skippers with all the relevant quailifications RYA, Sea Survival etc... what else should i look for??

- Is it possible to get someone trained from scratch?

And... do you have any other comments
Old 10 December 2007, 12:07   #2
CJL

Town: London/Oxford
Make: Ribcrafts
Length: 5m +
Engine: 150hp/2x115hp
MMSI: 235090215
RIBase
Send a message via Skype™ to CJL
We have been doing it for quite some time and its not something I would consider using subcontractors for.

One of our most popular boats is the Ribtec 585 (6m LOA) as its dry but yet still easy to handle. I've got one for sale with a new Merc Verado and 3years warranty if you'd like.

If your looking towards doing stand-by work for long periods I'd either go for a cabin rib or ditch the RIB completely.

Chris
Old 10 December 2007, 17:33   #3

Town: ramsgate
Boat name: Micki Dee Bee
Make: Ribcraft Seasafari
Length: 9m +
Engine: Twin 250hp Suzuki
MMSI: 235057235
Send a message via MSN to Jon Brooks
I do Seal Watching but.........

There are a number of people that offer this service around the UK, us included.
We have both and open and cabin rib available.

Some of the contracts insist or "protection" for the crew so would totally agree on either a cabin rib or another type of vessel.