Old 22 July 2011, 15:56   #1

Town: currently Ibiza s
Boat name: grand bleu
Make: searay
Length: 6m +
Engine: merc 4.3 v
all advice welcome for new charter biz

Hi Newbie here so please be gentle!
I would appreciate any advice anyone could offer as I am pretty clueless on the whole subject but...
I am considering a career change from builder in the uk to rib operator for charter in the med up to 12 miles from the coast of spain. 7m rib taking people sightseeing, lunching, snorkling but not water skiing etc. Daylight hours only and 8 passengers max. I am hoping to pick up one day charter a week high season and I would skipper.
That is pretty much the model of it, but about me-
44 yrs old
10 years experience with a searay 4.3 merc inboard
ppl sep (not important save the vhf license)
RYA ICC
Willing to learn before taking passengers.
Physically and mentally all there.
I would like the boat to be UK registered as I would remain Uk registered as well, the charter would only operate for a few months a year.

So the questions are-
what kind of qualifications do you think I would need?
what would the Spanish Authorities make of it all?
what kind of boat would you recommend? (I would like the biggest possible on a trailer as I don't want to pay marina charges here which are very dear)
Anyone done the same?

Thanks in advance
Old 03 August 2011, 22:43   #2

Town: Emmerich am Rhein
Boat name: Raider
Make: Ribeye
Length: 8m +
Engine: 300 HP Outboard
Hi Rewdan,

Right now, i'm doing the same thing. I'd like to move to Spain, after i've sold my house and start a RIB charter business over there. I had the same questions, but most are personal. The license you need is the ICC-2 or RYA with commercial endorsement.
Spanish authorities don't care, as long as you pay your taxes.
Kind of boat is personal. What are you offering? Speed and action or nice vieuws and dolphin watching? Try to google for "matriculation tax".