Old 05 July 2010, 14:17   #1

Town: Southampton
Length: 5m +
Advice Required.

Hi All,

I am new to this forum, so please excuse me if I have posted in the wrong place.
I am looking for advice in what qualifications are required to drive a rib/powerboat commercially?
I currently have a fair few hours under my belt and have a good knowledge of the Solent. My Farther is a Southampton Pilot and I have been around boats since I can remember. I am a marine engineer by trade and have raced in the Honda Formula 4 Stroke Series (Now P1 Superstock) for the last 4 years. I currently have a Fairline which is kept on the Hamble, i was hoping to do a couple of charters every year to help pay for the boat. I currently hold a VHF with DSC radio licence and a Powerboat Level 2 and i understand that you can have this commercially endorsed, but is this really enough?
I was hoping to maybe work for another charter company to see how things worked before i started on my own, but will a PB level to be enough? I now run my own telecoms company so can have spare time to spend working for others.
Any help would be a much appreciated.
Andy
Old 05 July 2010, 14:34   #2

Town: Côte d'Azur
Boat name: Beaver Patrol
Make: Avon Searider SR4
Length: 4m +
Minimum of powerboat level 2, VHF, ML5 medical, sea survival. Then you can commercially endorse the level 2. Most charter operators will want a commercially endorsed advanced powerboat skipper which is all of the above plus advanced powerboat (maybe intermediate depending on what level your at) followed by the advanced exam.

If you just want to charter your boat out a handful of times a year, look at getting a local area licence for it rather than going down the MCA coding avenue. The inspection and licence costs less than £100 a year, plus you most probably have all the required kit on board already.
Old 05 July 2010, 14:42   #3

Town: Various
Length: 6m +
Endorsement

Hi Andy,