Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 08 January 2006, 13:10   #11
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: swansea
Boat name: Too Blue
Make: BLANK
Length: 8m +
Engine: Suzuki DT225
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 12,791
Quote:
Originally Posted by laser
Ouch thats expensive!!!

If you are ever looking to but new parts, take a look round the internet look at some reviews and stuff.
I see it's MIMO - makes a big difference to signal strength - I have found it works much better than the normal types.
__________________

__________________
codprawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 January 2006, 13:29   #12
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Helston, Cornwall
Boat name: Silver Fern
Make: Rayglass Protector
Length: 8m +
Engine: 2 x 250hp Verado
MMSI: 235024092
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 811
Send a message via AIM to gingercoastie Send a message via MSN to gingercoastie
I have just upgraded my AOL Broadband to AOL platinum. Aol will then send you a wireless modem router. So for the first time today I am surfing RIBnet sat in the lounge watching telly, instead of sitting in the backroom all on my lonesome.

It is worth bearing in mind that only the router needs to connect to AOL, I only use internet explorer on my laptop, and do not have AOL installed on it.
__________________

__________________


Its all got to go - make me an offer...............

Skype - alexgreig
gingercoastie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 January 2006, 13:36   #13
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Mighty Penryn
Boat name: Little Joe.
Make: Avon Searider
Length: 4m +
Engine: Honda BF50
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 8,841
I've been told by a couple of tech-heads never to go near AOL. Apparently it can corrupt the PC and it's nearly impossible to remove it should you want to.
__________________
Mollers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 January 2006, 13:37   #14
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: New Forest
Boat name: Charlie Brown
Make: Scorpion
Length: 8m +
Engine: 275 Verado
MMSI: 235069179
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,072
Send a message via MSN to Zippy
Quote:
Originally Posted by gingercoastie
It is worth bearing in mind that only the router needs to connect to AOL, I only use internet explorer on my laptop, and do not have AOL installed on it.
Really? that would be cool as i hate he AOL explorer. i also dont want to install AOL on my work Laptop.
__________________
Zippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 January 2006, 13:38   #15
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: I.O.W/Bristol
Boat name: HotShot
Make: shakey
Length: 5m +
Engine: 70hp Tohatsu
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,543
howard,

I've just got bb and a wireless setup.

For bb go for plusnet. 14.99 a month for a 2mb connection with NO limit on the amount you can download. Most providers like wannadoo have a limit of something stupid like 2Gb a month, which is ridiculous! Plusnet also have a very good reputation for customer service and I have haven't yet had any problems (nor have my mates who have been on it a while).

As for wireless routers etc. I have got a netgear one. They seem to have a good reputation and our one can transmit through two floors up to my bedroom. It doesn't like going diagonally through thick walls though so positioning could be crucial.

You could try using a usb wireless pen as well. easy to setup and they seem to work just as well as a pci card. probably only a good idea if the laptop has usb2.0

One last thing....NEVER EVER EVER EVER BUY ANYTHING FROM DIXONS!!!!! that kind of includes currys and probably pc world. I am on a quest to stop people shopping at dixons as they failed to deliver me a tv before xmas and I have yet to get 300 refunded...they are a complete pile of crap
__________________
slimtim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 January 2006, 13:58   #16
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Portsmouth Harbour
Length: no boat
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 175
dont touch AOL with a barge pole!!!!!! They are awful
__________________
Rich
RYA Powerboat Instructor, RYA PWC Instructor, RYA Dinghy Instructor

Davies Coaching
laser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 January 2006, 14:21   #17
ADS
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Dorset
Length: 4m +
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,410
Got 2MB Bt openworld broadband -expensive but reliable.
Use a Net Gear router, my pc has a Buffalo PCI wireless card in the back about 30, can't fault it, although my PC never moves so I don't know how it compares to the Compaq wireless card in my laptop, which picks up signal anywhere in the house.
Alternatively, buy a wireless card for your lap top and drive very slowly around your area and see who hasn't bothered to encrypt their wireless network. 0.00 a month and unlimited downloads
__________________
ADS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 January 2006, 15:16   #18
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: Milford Haven
Boat name: Various
Make: Commercial
Length: 10m +
Engine: Screw / Voith / Jets
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 791
Send a message via MSN to Alex Brown
It's worth looking at http://www.adslguide.org.uk to get a feel of the different isps.
I'm with eclipse internet based in exeter - they're not the cheapest of the bunch, but are pretty reliable and fast too.

Speedtouch routers are a doddle to setup - I have setup about 12 of these for work now, and each has taken no more than 3 or 4 mins to configure from scratch to a fully working connection to internet. Goto www.dslsource.co.uk for a decent range of ADSL products.

Personally, I don't like the nanny approach to getting online like AOL provides, but despite what it does to the computer when it gets installed, it does seem to get people online relatively easily. I have a user at work who swears by it and he connects to AOL through our network - the bit that annoys me here is that when he's connected to AOL, any sites he visits get piped through from AOL directly as opposed to seeing them through our network. It's very inefficient cos he connects into our office via AOL when he's in the office which means the data has left the premises, gone through AOL somewhere and then come back to the premesis.

Whatever ISP you go with, make sure you check the smallprint on restrictions of service, like a max download limit per month.

-Alex
__________________
Flickr Photos
Youtube Videos
Alex Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 January 2006, 19:03   #19
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Exmouth, Devon
Length: no boat
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 765
Quote:
Originally Posted by ADS
Alternatively, buy a wireless card for your lap top and drive very slowly around your area and see who hasn't bothered to encrypt their wireless network. 0.00 a month and unlimited downloads
If you're lucky you may not even have to move from your chair - discreetly ask your neighbours if they use wireless broadband!

Serious point though - make sure you
1. Change the default user names and passwords on the router and write them in the user guide
2. Set up the WEP or WPA encryption system that comes with all of them these days

I use a KCorp Gold wireless router with a card in a PC two rooms with brick walls and a floor away with no problem. Review here doesn't have a modem built-in but your service provider may well throw one in. Not one of the big names, but well-rated.

If you want to use a wireless router pretty well anywhere round the house, try mounting it in the hallway/landing somewhere for max coverage.

Note that for many of the high-speed routers you are recommended to use their related cards due to proprietary add-ins to get the speed boost. They will usually work with third-party cards, but not at the max speed. Lots of them come in value bundles anyway though.

I've heard of a few people having problems with Bulldog and Virgin broadband but the problem is you can never really tell if these are going to be sporadic or on-going problems. For example, you're just as likely to get speed issues if there's lots of people locally on broadband at the same time.

I'm guessing you can probably find sites that show the relative reliability/speed of of the ISPs

One final tip - when you first set up the router, do it using a PC with a network cable so at least you're not guessing if the connection is working.

Good luck

Mike
__________________
MikeCC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 January 2006, 19:31   #20
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Make: HumberOceanOffshore
Length: 8m +
Engine: Volvo KAD300/DPX
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,962
If you want to work outside, you may need the extra range of MIMO preN stuff. The Belkin range is DSL. They can be linked to a modem to connect to ADSL but, for the life of me, I can't get it to work and I've tried a few modems. It doesn't appear to do what it says on the tin. Belkin recommend their modem, obviously, but it seems to only be available in Australia! Maybe that tells you something about Belkin. I have NTL Freedom ADSL but I've a feeling they have linked up with Virgin for new customers. It's not too bad a deal...25 but all telephone calls are free day and night, except high rate no's. and there's no gb limit.
__________________

__________________
JW.
jwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.