Old 03 August 2012, 06:17   #1
RIBnet supporter

Town: Hants
Length: 8m +
Engine: 300hp plus
Web site designer?

Is there a way to identify who designed a given website if this is not shown/displayed on the webpages?

Can you right click and look at source etc? or who loaded site to internet?
Old 03 August 2012, 06:39   #2

Town: NW Surrey
Boat name: Lady Helen
Make: Avon
Length: 3m +
Engine: Out Petrol 3.5 & 15
I have just had a look at the source for your post.

There is nothing in there that says it was designed (or loaded) by anyone specific.

There is a copyright notice.

It is possible to put comments in the source so the website you are interested in may have these. You could always try contacting the website owner to find out the developer.

When I worked in IT development we were required to add comments to source code of who, when and why we were changing the programs.
Old 03 August 2012, 06:44   #3

Length: 7m +
In short the answer is No, however sometimes this might be recorded within the domain name register information but it depends upon what information is supplied by the domain owner.

To find the domain owner (registered owner) do a 'whois lookup', there are various websites where you can do this so you could do a search on google for whois look up or domain register owner.

Or go to Whois.com - Domain Names & Identity for Everyone enter website address without the www and without the extension, click on which extension to add and when it comes up as unavaiable click on the whois link to show details.
Old 03 August 2012, 06:50   #4

Town: Glasgow
Boat name: snagglepuss
Make: Shetland
Length: 6m +
Engine: 90 hp Outboard
Hi

24sevenmedia | Digital Design Agency did the site.

Not very good from being found in google. 2/10
usability seems good 9/10
image is average 5/10
does have google analytics's so you will have something to work from

Hope this helps and feel free to call me on my mobile if you need more info

Dave
0759 563 8185