Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 04 March 2012, 10:54   #211
Member
 
Leapy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Sheepy Parva
Boat name: Sadly Sold
Length: no boat
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,728
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian View Post
That particular mount will not work for a GoPro camera though. It has no thread in it's base
But you can buy an adaptor
__________________

__________________
Leapy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 March 2012, 11:19   #212
RIBnet supporter
 
mick's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Wakefield
Boat name: Bouncer
Make: Redbay Stormforce
Length: 6m +
Engine: 2x Honda 90Hp
MMSI: 235025718
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3,984
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian
Longjohn.
That particular mount will not work for a GoPro camera though. It has no thread in it's base.
Actions.
I like that mount, but I agree, check your roll-bar diameter first. Mine is particularly thick (a bit like me!).

None of the mounts mentioned so far allow the camera to be swivelled sideways though. I have e-mailed GoPro and asked the question with the predictable answer "no, we don't do one, but will tell our development team of your suggestion".

On the subject of GoPro software.............
can anyone tell me how to join together several clips of film to form one continuous file? WITHOUT USING A MAC.
Have s look on ram - mounts
__________________
mick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 March 2012, 11:20   #213
RIBnet supporter
 
Brian's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Isle of Man
Town: Peel, IOM
Length: no boat
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,277
RIBase
Leapy
Hmmm. Never thought of using TWO adaptors. Just shows how thick I am.
Is that going to work though?
Don't want to sound too iffy, BUT........
if I take longjohn's 1st. adaptor, take off the handlebar bit, screw it through the s/s A-frame, and onto your adaptor and then put the camera on top of that, then wont the motion of the boat tend to unscrew the two adaptors?
Wouldn't it be easier to just put a suitable sized bolt up through the A-frame and into your adaptor?
Apart from the correct thread, said bolt would need to be EXACTLY the right length as well.
__________________
Brian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 March 2012, 11:53   #214
Member
 
actions's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Herne Bay
Boat name: Red May
Make: Zodiac
Length: 4m +
Engine: 40hp Honda 4 Stroke
MMSI: Is quite long
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 653
Send a message via Skype™ to actions
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian
Wouldn't it be easier to just put a suitable sized bolt up through the A-frame and into your adaptor?
Apart from the correct thread, said bolt would need to be EXACTLY the right length as well.
Im thinking the easiest way would be the roll bar mount. Here are the frame sizes.

Roll bar - http://www.actioncameras.co.uk/gopro-rollbar-mount

Bike bar - http://www.actioncameras.co.uk/gopro-ride-hero

Sent from my galaxy s2
__________________
actions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 March 2012, 13:33   #215
Member
 
Leapy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Sheepy Parva
Boat name: Sadly Sold
Length: no boat
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,728
Quote:
Originally Posted by actions View Post
Im thinking the easiest way would be the roll bar mount. Here are the frame sizes.

Roll bar - GoPro Roll Bar Mount | Action Cameras UK

Bike bar - GoPro Ride Hero Handlebar Mount | Action Cameras UK

Sent from my galaxy s2
+1

Or, and I keep harping on about this...use the self adhesive pads. I'm using five across the RIB and kayak. They're like sh$t to a blanket Use a lanyard too if you're unsure but I disposed of mine ages ago.
__________________
Leapy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 March 2012, 13:47   #216
Member
 
actions's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Herne Bay
Boat name: Red May
Make: Zodiac
Length: 4m +
Engine: 40hp Honda 4 Stroke
MMSI: Is quite long
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 653
Send a message via Skype™ to actions
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leapy View Post
Or, and I keep harping on about this...use the self adhesive pads. I'm using five across the RIB and kayak. They're like sh$t to a blanket .

Thats what i've just stuck in a few places, Bow / Waterski's, so my fingers are crossed they do hold. But for now a cable tie is my safety back up on the bow and a floaty backdoor on the ski's.
__________________
actions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 March 2012, 13:56   #217
Member
 
Leapy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Sheepy Parva
Boat name: Sadly Sold
Length: no boat
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,728
Quote:
Originally Posted by actions View Post
Thats what i've just stuck in a few places, Bow / Waterski's, so my fingers are crossed they do hold. But for now a cable tie is my safety back up on the bow and a floaty backdoor on the ski's.
Just watch that the cable tie doesn't thrash around in the breeze..the microphone will pick it up
__________________
Leapy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 March 2012, 06:28   #218
Member
 
longjohn's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Bournemouth
Boat name: Seadrive
Make: Capelli Tempest 470
Length: 4m +
Engine: Suzuki DF70
MMSI: 235079113
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 541
Just been trying out my new camera mount - cheap and cheerful but seem to do the job.eBay - The UK's Online Marketplace

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature...&v=rkob4-qhto4

less happy with the quality of pics from the camera supposedly records at 1280x720 @30 fps. But doesn't look particularly sharp to me and is grainy. Taken on a Pentax Option W90 waterproof compact cam. Doesn't look as good quality as my previous cam that I lost :-( a Panasonic DMC-FT1 - these vids were taken with it:



so is it time to go for a GoPro or even back to a DMC-FT4?

John
__________________
longjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 March 2012, 07:07   #219
Member
 
Cookee's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Salcombe, Devon, UK
Boat name: BananaShark
Make: BananaShark
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2xYanmar 260 diesels
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4,225
Quote:
Originally Posted by longjohn View Post
so is it time to go for a GoPro or even back to a DMC-FT4?

John
I would seriously take a look at the Veho Muvi stuff - they do a camera with exactly the same spec, a screen on the back and a remote option for less money - and they use the same mounts as a GoPro camera so it's all interchangeable :-)
__________________
Cookee
Originally Posted by Zippy
When a boat looks that good who needs tubes!!!
Cookee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 March 2012, 20:26   #220
Member
 
longjohn's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Bournemouth
Boat name: Seadrive
Make: Capelli Tempest 470
Length: 4m +
Engine: Suzuki DF70
MMSI: 235079113
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 541
the thing I like about waterproof compacts over muvi/gopro etc is not to having to fiddle with waterproof cases and therefore having direct access to the camera controls while in use. And the viewing screen is useful to get some idea of what you are shooting ( yeah I know the Muvi has a small screen)

By the time you add waterproof case and mounts to the Muvi its as expensive as the GoPro
__________________

__________________
longjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 14:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.