Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 20 December 2007, 15:43   #21
Member
 
Bigmuz7's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Glasgow
Boat name: stramash
Make: Tornado
Length: 5m +
Engine: Etec 90
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,068
Switches, hubs, routers, DHCP configurements...address conflicts ... blah blah... keep it simple is the best rule like I said, to eliminate conflicts Frothy Top
__________________

__________________
Bigmuz7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 December 2007, 19:37   #22
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 4m +
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 29
I remeber seeing an epsiode of the real hustle where he had his laptop some where with Wifi, he was then able to put out wifi from his laptop with a new name using the Wifi already in the building.
Sorry its not worded very well.

I also have a laptop which im replacing soon, so would it be possible to have the laptop wired to the router and give out a wireless signal from the laptop.

The built in wireless card is a "Dell wireless 1370 WLAN Mini-PCI Card"

Thanks
__________________

__________________
frothy top is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 December 2007, 03:29   #23
Member
 
Country: Belgium
Town: Brussels
Boat name: - sold -
Length: 4m +
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 26
@ Frothy

I'll pass on this. We do not set up networks this way, we use routers, switches etc...

Patrick
__________________
http://verretdeprest.be
perk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 December 2007, 10:17   #24
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Exmouth, Devon
Length: no boat
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 765
Using two routers . . .

. . . one in the left hand, one in the right. Might be tricky keeping a straight cut though.

Sorry, someone had to.
__________________
www.allgadgets.co.uk
Tel 01395 227727
MikeCC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 December 2007, 15:15   #25
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 4m +
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 29
Problem solved sort of. I found out how to put out wifi from the laptop, but for some reason my archos can't find the wireless but it will have to do.

Thanks all for the help
__________________
frothy top is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 December 2007, 19:25   #26
Member
 
Bigmuz7's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Glasgow
Boat name: stramash
Make: Tornado
Length: 5m +
Engine: Etec 90
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,068
Heres a page for you guys to check out

http://www.reghardware.co.uk/reviews/networking/

Wireless extenders for one reason.. but.. using your ring main in the house for sharing your wireless network is the other Sound scary.. but its a good solution.. Devolo are 'the boys' for it
__________________
Bigmuz7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 December 2007, 19:50   #27
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: swansea
Boat name: Too Blue
Make: BLANK
Length: 8m +
Engine: Suzuki DT225
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 12,791
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigmuz7 View Post
Heres a page for you guys to check out

http://www.reghardware.co.uk/reviews/networking/

Wireless extenders for one reason.. but.. using your ring main in the house for sharing your wireless network is the other Sound scary.. but its a good solution.. Devolo are 'the boys' for it
Yes I have used these quite a lot. Hardest job was in a massive old mansion with walls literally 6' thick. Not allowed wires anywhere as it was Grade 1 listed. To make matters worse it was 3 phase electrics and they had 6 fuse boxes/distribution boards!!! Ended up using a mixture of wireless through the floors and Devolos between phases. Didn't help that 3 out of 10 Devolos were faulty - grrr!!!
__________________
codprawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 December 2007, 05:04   #28
Member
 
Bigmuz7's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Glasgow
Boat name: stramash
Make: Tornado
Length: 5m +
Engine: Etec 90
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,068
Yea .. it has to be said, the Devolo stuff only works easily/properly where you have a ring circuit. Old buildings dont always have such configurations that are so easily determined, and as you say, combinations of other hardware are sometimes required to complete the job
__________________

__________________
Bigmuz7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 22:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.