Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 15 February 2013, 13:48   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Royal Wootton Bassett
Length: 8m +
Engine: 250
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 8,020
Three Phase?

Hummm, found a nice newish and very large compressor in my late fathers workshop but it's three phase, next to it is a 240v to three phase converter with a motor attached.

Now here is the question, is it worth keeping and trying to work out how to connect the two together or selling both and get a 240 v one.
__________________

__________________
whisper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 February 2013, 13:54   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: macclessfield
Boat name: Reach Out
Make: Quicksilver
Length: 4m +
Engine: 30hp Tohatsu EFI
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 301
Your inverter is 230volts input single phase and 220 volt three phase output.

So you compressor motor must be able to run 220vac 3 phase also . Most motors can be set into delta to run at 220vac three phase . I suspect that you compressor motor is too large for the inverter you have... Check your motor size against the inverter size also... I.e. kw rating and/or current rating.....

You can buy converters to run 400volt three phase motors from 230v single, see them on eBay...

Post up photos of the motor and inverter labels and I can tell you more...
__________________

__________________
simsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 February 2013, 13:59   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Royal Wootton Bassett
Length: 8m +
Engine: 250
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 8,020
I remember him saying it is the attached motor which generates the 3rd phase if that sounds right.

Is three phase normally 415v or something like that?
__________________
whisper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 February 2013, 14:03   #4
RIBnet supporter
 
Ian M's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: New Milton
Boat name: Jianna
Make: Osprey
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200 E-TEC
MMSI: 235076954
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,933
Quote:
Originally Posted by whisper View Post
I remember him saying it is the attached motor which generates the 3rd phase if that sounds right.

Is three phase normally 415v or something like that?
Mmm, doesn't sound right to me. Yes 3 phase is normally 415V. As Simsy says, check the ratings.
__________________
Ian

Dust creation specialist
Ian M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 February 2013, 14:07   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: macclessfield
Boat name: Reach Out
Make: Quicksilver
Length: 4m +
Engine: 30hp Tohatsu EFI
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 301
Euro norms are 400v three phase. I.e. yep 415v
__________________
simsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 February 2013, 14:16   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Royal Wootton Bassett
Length: 8m +
Engine: 250
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 8,020
There are several machines in there and my dads wishes were for me to sell and everything I wasn't going to use and give the money to me mum and i really can't see me using a milling machine or a metal working lathe although the horizontal bandsaw looks handy....

I'll have a look tomorrow.
__________________
whisper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 February 2013, 14:31   #7
Member
 
mister p's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: LONDON
Make: SR4/ZODIAC/3D
Length: 4m +
Engine: 30T/40T
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,433
Wire the bugger up, plug her in, see what happens. Isolate it with a fuse though.
__________________
mister p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 February 2013, 14:34   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Royal Wootton Bassett
Length: 8m +
Engine: 250
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 8,020
Quote:
Originally Posted by mister p View Post
Wire the bugger up, plug her in, see what happens. Isolate it with a fuse though.
There is no way I'm diggin me dad up!
__________________
whisper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 February 2013, 14:35   #9
RIBnet supporter
 
Ian M's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: New Milton
Boat name: Jianna
Make: Osprey
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200 E-TEC
MMSI: 235076954
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,933
Quote:
Originally Posted by mister p View Post
Wire the bugger up, plug her in, see what happens. Isolate it with a fuse though.
Er, NOT a good idea.
__________________
Ian

Dust creation specialist
Ian M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 February 2013, 14:38   #10
Member
 
Peter_C's Avatar
 
Country: USA
Boat name: Uh...a kayak?
Length: 4m +
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,485
If the converter is not the right one, you could always just swap the motor out. I did that for my scuba compressor as three phase motors with a converter will draw more power than single phase motor...but barely. It maters to me since I often run my compressor for 4 hours at a time. Plus a converter was around the same cost as a new motor.

I have been looking for a milling machine, too bad shipping isn't feasible. Did your dad ever teach you how to run the equipment?
__________________

__________________
Peter_C is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.