Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 02 April 2012, 15:32   #11
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,579
RIBase
the inverter should have a display that shows instantaneous power
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 April 2012, 16:19   #12
Member
 
Hightower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Fareham
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7,855
It does, but as it's in the loft and not easily accessable it's next to useless. I'll have to monitor the wheel on the meter to see what my real time energy usage is.
__________________

__________________
Andy

Looks Slow but is Fast
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Hightower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 April 2012, 16:22   #13
Member
 
NeilH's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Brockenhurst
Boat name: Fizz
Make: Yamaha
Length: 4m +
Engine: Outboard 50hp
MMSI: 235071207
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 210
We had them fitted a few weeks ago (the 'free' ones). The inverter does show the current amount being produced but ours is in the attic and after the first couple of days the enthusiasm to go and see what it is generating wanes! The meter in the garage shows we have so far generated 569Kwh but I've no idea how much of this we have used. I've bought an electric chain saw and will be using it when it is sunny!
Apart from sticking the washing machine on during the day I hadn't really thought of ways to maximise the free energy.
Cheers
Neil
NeilH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 April 2012, 17:35   #14
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,579
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hightower View Post
It does, but as it's in the loft and not easily accessable it's next to useless. I'll have to monitor the wheel on the meter to see what my real time energy usage is.
What make is the inverter? if it's an SMA "sunny boy" you can get a bluetooth monitor which will work over about 50m & give you full readout of instant, accumulated power etc.
You can also download the free software from SMA's website & use a laptop with bluetooth to monitor the inverter.
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 April 2012, 21:13   #15
Member
 
Hightower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Fareham
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7,855
It's made by Fronius, don't know the exact model number but there doesn't seem to be any Blue Tooth facility but you can hardwire a network and use USB datalogging. To be honest, if it means taking panels off etc I won't be touching it as the system isn't mine to play with. I'll have to find some other passive way to help me.
__________________
Andy

Looks Slow but is Fast
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Hightower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 April 2012, 03:04   #16
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: NW Surrey
Boat name: Lady Helen
Make: Avon
Length: 3m +
Engine: Out Petrol 3.5 & 15
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 222
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hightower View Post
The good news is that the electrician came today to wire everything up and it all seems to work OK, generating 12KW of electrical power. The bad news is that there is a display on the meter, but only displays the total energy produced and not what it's producing at any given time
I have attached one of those 'this is how much electricity you are using' things to the PV output and this displays how much is being generated now on a radio linked display in the kitchen. I believe the power companies give them away if you ask for them.
__________________
EnglishLes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 April 2012, 12:24   #17
Member
 
Hightower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Fareham
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7,855
Quote:
Originally Posted by EnglishLes View Post
I have attached one of those 'this is how much electricity you are using' things to the PV output and this displays how much is being generated now on a radio linked display in the kitchen. I believe the power companies give them away if you ask for them.
I tried that on the wire from the inverter to the meter, but it didn't register anything. Possibly because the clamp went over the entire multi core cable instead of just the live one?
__________________
Andy

Looks Slow but is Fast
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Hightower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 April 2012, 14:22   #18
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,579
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hightower View Post
I tried that on the wire from the inverter to the meter, but it didn't register anything. Possibly because the clamp went over the entire multi core cable instead of just the live one?
You need to pick up just the 1 wire. If you pick up the L&N they cancel each other out. B&Q sell a decent one for about 30 quid
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 April 2012, 14:58   #19
Member
 
Hightower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Fareham
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7,855
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pikey Dave View Post
You need to pick up just the 1 wire. If you pick up the L&N they cancel each other out. B&Q sell a decent one for about 30 quid
I can't touch the wiring, it's not my equipement. So I'm kind of stuffed!

What I will do is to monitor the readings from the inverter during different weather and get a feel for what it's producing. The light meter switch seems like the best way to go for me, so will be looking at purchasing/building one of these.
__________________
Andy

Looks Slow but is Fast
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Hightower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 April 2012, 16:27   #20
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,579
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hightower View Post
I can't touch the wiring, it's not my equipement. So I'm kind of stuffed!

What I will do is to monitor the readings from the inverter during different weather and get a feel for what it's producing. The light meter switch seems like the best way to go for me, so will be looking at purchasing/building one of these.
You don't need to touch the wiring, the pickup (current transformer) just clips around the cable, completely non-invasive
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 22:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.