Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 27 December 2007, 19:04   #1
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: WhiteNoise/Dominator
Make: Ballistic 7.8/SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Opti 225/Yam 85
MMSI: 235090687/235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12,645
RIBase
Sky TV listings trouble

Has anyone else found that their sky box listings are only showing what's on right now?
Mine randomly seems to lose all the advance programme listings lately and I'm wondering if it's my box or Sky themselves.
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 December 2007, 03:49   #2
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: Oakley
Boat name: Zerstörer
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki DF 140
MMSI: 235050131
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,931
Matt,

No problems with Sky at my end. Other than the fact there are too many channels with crap on them.

When I've had problems in the past I have done a complete reboot of the system. Also make sure the Sky box is connected to a phone line. That has caused major problems with one of our Sky Boxes before now. Once it was all reset we were able to remove the phone cable and its been okay for the last month.

Hope that is of some help.

Nick.
__________________

__________________
http://www.xfire.com/download/
Biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 December 2007, 04:16   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Hamble
Length: 9m +
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,317
For the last week or so mine occasionally won't show further than the next few hours on each channel.
__________________
It is better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak and remove all doubt!
Dirk Diggler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 December 2007, 05:08   #4
Member
 
Cookee's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Salcombe, Devon, UK
Boat name: BananaShark
Make: BananaShark
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2xYanmar 260 diesels
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4,225
What Biggles said works for me too!
__________________
Cookee
Originally Posted by Zippy
When a boat looks that good who needs tubes!!!
Cookee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 December 2007, 05:21   #5
Member
 
Hightower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Fareham
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7,855
How about the odd random channels breaking up, I seem to get some channels regularly breaking up, so bad that you obviously can't watch it. The majoratory of other channels and the seem fine and signal strength seems OK, rebooting doesn't help, any thoughts before I phone sky?
__________________
Andy

Looks Slow but is Fast
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Hightower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 December 2007, 05:27   #6
Member
 
Cookee's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Salcombe, Devon, UK
Boat name: BananaShark
Make: BananaShark
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2xYanmar 260 diesels
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4,225
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hightower View Post
How about the odd random channels breaking up, I seem to get some channels regularly breaking up, so bad that you obviously can't watch it. The majoratory of other channels and the seem fine and signal strength seems OK, rebooting doesn't help, any thoughts before I phone sky?
That's because there is more than one satellite up there and you're not picking up one of them very well, could be misalignment of the dish or trees partially blocking the signal slightly?
__________________
Cookee
Originally Posted by Zippy
When a boat looks that good who needs tubes!!!
Cookee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 December 2007, 14:56   #7
Member
 
Hightower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Fareham
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7,855
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cookee View Post
That's because there is more than one satellite up there and you're not picking up one of them very well, could be misalignment of the dish or trees partially blocking the signal slightly?
There's no obstruction in the way, I suppose it could have moved, but it would have done so by it's self as I didn't used to get this problem. It's funny that only a few channels are affected, I'd have thought that if it where a signal problem then all the channels would be kack.
__________________
Andy

Looks Slow but is Fast
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Hightower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 December 2007, 17:36   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Clanfield
Boat name: Ragless
Make: Ocean
Length: 6m +
Engine: Evinrude 175DI
MMSI: 235066488
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 73
Send a message via MSN to BigFella Send a message via Skype™ to BigFella
If you look at the signal strength meters (Services>System Setup>Signal Test) You will see two meters one showing strength and one showing quality. chances are that the quality meter may be a little down? They should both be above 80%. When the dish is aligned it is aligned in two axis and four bands are checked, all of which need to be above 80% Horizontals are set on the dish main bracket and then the verticals are tweaked to give maximum signal quality. Chances are your dish is slightly misaligned and therefore is missing part of the signal. Consider the distance between your dish and the sattelite - a very small angular deviation at the dish could lead to missing a satellite by miles..

The only way to get a proper check is by using a proper Sat Meter - unfortunately Sky will charge for that privilege

(BTW I was lucky enough ? to work as an installer for a couple of years )

Also if you connect to a phone line then remove th emains lead from the back of the box and put it back in whilst holding the backup key down (on th ebox not the remote), you will force a software upgrade on your box (it will take around ten minutes to download) which will upgrade your software to the latest OS version. This can be an issue on boxes that have been unplugged from the phone line and can cause problems with the on-screen programme guide.
__________________
Take my advice and never drink water . . . . I've seen what it does to the bottom of boats..
BigFella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 December 2007, 18:55   #9
RIBnet admin team
 
Nos4r2's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: The wilds of Wiltshire
Boat name: WhiteNoise/Dominator
Make: Ballistic 7.8/SR5.4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Opti 225/Yam 85
MMSI: 235090687/235055163
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 12,645
RIBase
Thanks Bigfella- I'll try that one!
__________________
Need spares,consoles,consumables,hire,training or even a new boat?

Please click HERE and HERE and support our Trade Members.

Join up as a Trade member or Supporter HERE
Nos4r2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 22:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.