Old 02 August 2010, 15:27   #1

Town: I.O.W/Switzerland
Boat name: HotShot
Make: shakey
Length: 5m +
Engine: 90hp Tohatsu TLDI
Renting out a house/becoming a landlord - help

I may soon be in the position to rent out a 2 bedroom place in bristol. I have never done this before so some pointers would be good.
Specifically, should we use a letting agent for management? General consensus is they are a money grabbing waste of space. My brother and I both live in bristol but don't want to be constantly bothered by tenants problems.
What's the best thing to do in terms of tax? Do it through self assessment or set up a ltd company?
How much work is it to do it all yourself? I don't think we'll have too much trouble finding tenants, its the dealing with problems that concerns me as we both have full time jobs.

As an aside there is potential to convert the loft into a third bedroom, is this worth doing considering the cost involved? It could be done well by having its own access (I.e. not via another room but from the landing) but it would make the pretty big front bedroom smaller by a stairs width.

Any other tips?

Thanks, Tim
Old 02 August 2010, 17:26   #2

Town: Salisbury
Boat name: TORA
Make: Tornado
Length: 4m +
Engine: Yamaha 60hp
Send a message via Skype™ to TUFTY
My Experience

I have just returned to my own house which I have had let for the past 2 years.

I used agents as I was not living close to the property. They were pretty much a waste of space (and 10% of the monthly rental).

If I did this again I would not use an agent, my overall feeling was that their attitude leant towards the tennants not the landlords. Living nearby means you can address any issues yourself and not get ripped off by the agents and their preferred suppliers of services (plumbers etc)

There you go, this was my experience and may not be a reflection on all agents.

Cheers

Paul
Old 02 August 2010, 17:36   #3

Town: Cornwall
Length: no boat